3 Things I Learned Making Music With Zero Experience

Arianna O’Dell
5 min readAug 16, 2019

This January I decided I wanted to make music. So I did what any musician would do — I picked up my musical instrument and got my beautiful voice ready to make a masterpiece.

Just kidding. In January, I had zero experience playing music or making music. (Unless you count four-drinks-in karaoke)

Aside from my beautiful rendition of ‘Hot Cross Buns’ on the recorder, my music making was a bit hopeless. But nevertheless, I decided I wanted to try and make music. I wondered if I could use the same process I did for my online store. From design to photography, I had enlisted the help of talented creatives to help me with the parts of my store I didn’t know how to do.

For music creation, the only thing I knew that I could do maybe write song lyrics (though I’d never tried before). So I started to write down potential lyrics and later was able to turn them into songs.

How? With the help of talented musicians on the Fiverr platform, I found experienced musicians who could hep bring my ideas to life.

Here is my process and here is what I learned so far.

1.) Make music in an emotional state.

The first thing I did when trying to make music was to let myself be emotionalAF. I would feel things very deeply and then…

--

--

Arianna O’Dell

Boom! My brain is an entrepreneurial explosion. Founder @airlinkmktg & @ideasbyarianna. Always craving coffee and travel. ✈