A Conversation with Abraham Amkpa

Ari King
5 min readFeb 11, 2016

Name: Abraham Amkpa

Age: 28

@abamkpa (instagram) Abraham Jean Pierre Amkpa (facebook)

Website: about.me/abrahamamkpa

What I Do: Actor

What does being Black mean to you? What does being a person of color mean to you?

Pride, intelligence, rich culture both from West Africa and America…I sometimes forget I’m black until somebody else makes a comment of some sorts reminding me of my race.

In my mind I’m a neutral being trying to navigate this crazy ass world.

Do you like being a person of color? What is difficult about it?

I love being black because every day forces me to think outside the box. It’s difficult in the sense that some days I wish things were just easier and I didn’t have to think about how my behaviour or presence might affect somebody.

The fact that a pre-conceived THOUGHT is involved is already too problematic for me.

What’s the worst thing you experienced simply for being Black/a person of color?

A lot of false attempts to relate to me by my white counterparts in social settings, folks trying to be hip/down…Feeling people’s eyes on me and the idea occasionally that people are talking shit about me or singing my praises, for being special or whatever, in their heads really irks me.

Just talk to me like a normal person.

Flashback 50 years to the Selma — Montgomery marches, what are you telling others about the progress that will be made by 2016 for us/them as a group?

We can vote, own homes, and pretty much have all the normal rights as any white person in this country. Minus social-political humility and frequent biases in the workplace.

We still got a ways to go, but it’s A LOT better.

What does black history month mean to you?

A time for reflection and celebration of black people’s achievements. Only in the last couple years have I actually looked and been genuinely into the black pioneers of this country and I’m always impressed.

Do white people care about black history month?

NOPE. Unless they’re public school teachers.

Do black people care about black history month?

Not the ignorant knuckle head youth we have now.

What got you into showbusiness? What was the driving factor?

My high school teacher and my father’s influence. I wanted to be damn good/amazing at live story telling.

What bothers you about the oscar nominations?

It’s complete lack of inclusion of latino, black, or asian actors.

If you were having coffee with host Chris Rock, what would you say?

Stand down and make a real statement. F being a professional…but I understand you gotta do what you gotta do.

Will you boycott watching the Oscars?

Yes, because I’m mad about 2 years in a row of no diversity what so ever.

  • Do you find it surprising that the Academy did this again after the same thing happened last year particularly with the movie ‘Selma’, it’s black female director, Ava DuVernay, and actor David Oyelowo. What do you expect of a group of old white men?

I have very low bar when it comes to out of touch old white dudes voting for highly commercial films. I was pissed and shocked Selma or David Oyelowo wasn’t nominated. I think anyone who saw the film was floored.

Do you consider the Academy racist?

It’s not the academies fault. It’s the entire film industry’s hiring process that’s messed up and enforces a strict boys club.

What well known individuals (politicians, celebrities, athletes, activists, etc.) can use their voice to make a change for race relations?

All of the top dollar folks, if they’re serious and want to put their money where their mouths are. Denzel, Brad Pitt, Chris Rock, Kevin Hart, Dwayne Johnson, etc.

But no one will fully do that because they’re all still seeking Studio employment.

Does the oscar nominations make you more jaded about your profession or more inspired to be part of the change?

For a long time growing up I highly romanticized getting an oscar nomination. Now I don’t care. It’s all about creating art and continuously perfecting my craft and being a truthful story-teller.

What do you say to the people who believe “Black folks shouldn’t be seeking validation from an elitist white-dominated group like The Academy?”

I agree. Oscars/Golden Globes/Emmy’s in particular are for exploiting careers and adding revenue to projects. They definitely no longer symbolize to me the best in the business.

Black folks need to be continuously raising the technical bar and be undeniably damn good.

You’ve got the microphone and you are at Madison Sq. Garden and every audience member is white. You’ve got 1 minute. What do you want to say?

Enjoy pulling the strings in the entertainment industry for now! This country’s demographics are quickly changing and no one can control it!

Same scenario except every audience member is black. What do you want to say?

Everyone please calm down and keep doing what you’re doing. Help build each other up, build our own studios, and focus on our crafts more. The rest is all noise and will die down. Keep kicking down the right doors.

How do black kids stop getting killed? How do you walk the streets and not to get killed?

Respect authority. There should be a course taught about how to survive police encounters in public schools across the nation.

How do blacks become empowered so future generations have a better way of life?

We become empowered by continously questioning the establishment and the status quo. We empower future generations by continuing to fight for true equality and leaving behind a legacy of businesses, communities, and high level artistic work for kids to look up to.

Absent black men for fathers, angry black women for mothers: How does this stereotype stop?

By one man breaking the cycle in his family by being fully present and involved and for a black woman: by one mother showing love and compassion to her kids, rather than hate and contempt for their absent father.

--

--