Bullet Journaling & Anxiety

Ariel Lee
5 min readMay 27, 2019

How becoming a bullet journaler helped my stress.

Picture by myself.

When people look at me, they often don’t realize that I have anxiety issues. I tend to hide them well because I don’t like others knowing that I have them. One of the ways that I have struggled to overcome and help my anxiety, is by being organized.

When I was in college my sophomore year, I was floundering. Horribly. I couldn’t maintain the grueling schedule I had set for myself. I began missing deadlines, appointments and then started to withdraw from everything and everyone that I had become close it. Even my room reflected this state — it turned into a mess, as though a tornado had swept through and disturbed everything.

I had to fight to get my financial aid and not get kicked out of college. That summer was one of the most arduous times of my life as I struggled to reclaim the sense of balance that I had had, my first year of college.

The need for organization came, my junior year. Everything had to be in its right place. Books on the shelf, in the right order. Trinkets lined up exactly as I had set them initially. Clothes in the closet, sorted by work and downtime clothes. I even had a large calendar on the wall that held my classes, my appointments, work schedules and everything I needed to remember.

--

--

Ariel Lee

A writer offering the gift of the extraordinary in a world of mundane. Urban fantasy author and poetry writer.