5 Tips to help curve your sweet tooth this holiday season

Ariel Reyna
3 min readOct 4, 2017

--

It’s October and the holiday season is finally upon us! The weather is getting cooler, nights are longer, decoration wars begin, and the year is coming to an end, and it all starts with the spooky yet sweet holiday, Halloween. But lets be real, the only scary thing about Halloween is seeing your waist size start go up. We all know that this is the season where our will power quickly diminishes, and our cheat meals turn into cheat weeks, then into cheat months, until its time for those resolutions. Since we know how these holiday seasons usually go, I have 5 tips to help you get through this season and still hit your goals!

  1. Eat until your full!… I know a lot of people like to do the whole thing where they eat only a portion of their meal to save room for dessert, I know this because I do this. It’s not a bad thing to do, but I know in the holiday season people usually have candy/desserts left out for people to snack on throughout the day. If you’re eating healthy/filling meals, that have your daily necessities and you’re eating until you’re comfortably full, then you are less likely to be snacking on those extra sweets in between each meal. You’ll end up passing on the sugary stuff because you’re satisfied from eating the good stuff.
  2. Drink water!… Now I know this is something that every single health person suggests. I hate saying it because it sounds so cliche, but it works. I used to work in an office that always had a full bowl of candy and I would snack on it all the time, and I was finally able to stop when I started bringing water to work. Every time I wanted to get a piece of candy I would drink my water. I kept doing that until I didn’t even think about the candy anymore. I’m telling you it works, if you want it to work.
  3. Out of sight, out of mind!… Put those sweets somewhere you can’t see them, or you have to work to get them. Put them at the very top shelf in your pantry, hide them behind the clutter of containers. Just put them somewhere that you might forget, or might make you take a second to think about if it’s worth going through all that trouble just to eat a little bite, because it probably won’t be worth it.
  4. Put your goals on it!… If anything is going to make you put those container of cookies shaped like ghosts back down, it’ll probably be those numbers of your goal pant size or that picture of you at the beach before you started having kids. Put your goals on the sweets, whether it’s numbers or pictures or both! If you know what you want and you are determined to get there, that alone will help you put that bag of candy back on the shelf.
  5. Reward yourself!.. Now it is holiday season and you’re human. This season is when all of the best stuff is everywhere. If you just went 5 days without snacking on those candy’s then go ahead and have that slice of pie, go eat a brownie, treat yo self! My rule for myself is, if I’m gonna cheat I’m going to make it worth it and have THE BEST, I’m not gonna waste my cheats on small things like a few pieces of candy! Instead I’m going to have a clean and healthy week and then eat some homemade apple pie with ice cream, something that made the wait worth it!

That’s all for now! Just stick to these 5 tips to help you get through this season and Live your Con{FIT}dent You!

Originally published at ConFITdent You.

--

--