Objective — Learn new stuff that matters (and become smarter?!) Q1

Key result — read and summarise 52 books in 52 weeks

Arif Shafique
2 min readApr 9, 2019

I am a huge fan of OKR (objective key result) and as in my startup so using OKRs in my private life feels natural.

For a long time, I have had the goal of reading more books and learn from others. I love reading books, but with so many distractions both in work and private life (damn you Netflix and Youtube!) I was not able to make any noticeable progress. I find that whenever I finish a book it gives me new perspectives and ideas, basically fuels me to keep on moving and changing for the better.

So to make it more concrete I am now following my OKRs. I have now read about fourteen books and written summaries for all of them. I think about this OKR every morning and basically, have changed my habits. I read a book during the week and then write the summary within 1–2 days of completing the book. I am not writing these summaries for others so they are based on what I find most interesting and what I would like to remember after the read the books.

If I am smarter…well, that was probably not the actual goal. But learning things outside my main competency helps me see the things in a different way.

So to grade my self after the first quarter, I would give my self a 0.7 out of 1. I did what I planned. Looking forward to reading my next 38 books. I would also appreciate suggestions from you the reader if you read a non-fictional book that changed your view of the world or just the way you think about something.

Week 1 summary: The Intel Trinity

Week 2 summary: Blitzscaling

Week 3 summary: Start with Why

Week 4 summary: A Brief History of Time

Week 5 summary: Radical Focus

Week 6 summary: Life 3.0

Week 7 summary: Dare to Lead

Week 8 summary: And The Weak Suffer What They Must?

Week 9 summary: The Effective Executive

Week 10 summary: Wise Guy

Week 11 summary: The hard thing about hard things

Week 12 summary: Find your Why

Week 13 summary: Story Driven

Week 14 summary: Utopia for Realists

--

--