How and What to Write When Struggling With Depression

Riku Arikiri
ILLUMINATION
Published in
6 min readJun 26, 2020

--

Photo by Drew Beamer on Unsplash

My mother said to me, “Just Write It All Out!” so that you’re progressing and productive!” as she caressed my forehead, with a smile on her face.

Thus I thought it best to write it all out, well to be fair; I want to write about how to write and what to write when you’re struggling with depression.

It takes some motivation, perhaps that I just received from this beloved lady, who cares for me unconditionally. Yes, I’m motivated as my body and soul are filled with warmth and giddy joy, as I’m grinning on the fact that I’m able to write a few words for everyone who goes through these awful times.

I have lost some people this year, that were very close to me and to whom I was very close with too. There have been instances where my patience and faith have been tested, and thus life does usher depressing moments when one goes through these struggles alone, perhaps.

One thing I believe gives me the ability to write about myself are probably 3 daily practices I usually do, to write myself off of this depressing and draining feeling.

I know, I know, perhaps you might think, “Oh no, another list of things that aren’t gonna work for you!” perhaps, “they will or they…

--

--

Riku Arikiri
ILLUMINATION

It’s never black or white. Sometimes there’s a bit of spicy red in there as well.