Something We Can Learn From Comedians

Arittro
Studio 13 Magazine
Published in
3 min readMar 18, 2023

--

I had someone reach out to me about a week ago about advice on writing, reaching more people, and how to share it with a crowd. I feel like asking for advice is harder online since it’s tough to create a connection with the person you’re seeking advice from. Not only is it hard to ask for it, but it’s also hard to give it. I didn’t want to give repetitive advice on how to do these things because this person felt the need to reach out instead of looking it up on the internet. So, I shared something that I learned from a comedian and thought I would share it here too. Having never met the comedian, I felt this was perfect advice since it’s something easy to learn without having a special connection to the person you’re learning from.

Thank You Jerry Seinfeld

Comedians have nearly perfected perspective. We are intrigued by things that we usually don’t notice, specially when it’s hidden in plain sight. Comedians are good at finding these things and making it funny. I noticed this when I was watching The Seinfeld Show. Whenever he was up on stage for stand up, his jokes would always make me think longer than usual jokes I laugh at with my friends. What I indirectly learned from Seinfeld is that an authentic perspective makes you think. I applied this to my articles. Many of the topics I have written about have been written before, but my…

--

--