Underestimating is Holding You Back

Arittro
Studio 13 Magazine
Published in
3 min readSep 23, 2022

--

Sanest decision we’ve made so far (we never started)

I feel like underestimating how hard something is directly contributing to commitment issues and procrastination. For example, if you are between the ages of 16 and 27 and you had a semi-deep conversation with your friend, chances are you have thought about starting a podcast. The thing is most of us haven’t even taken the first step to create an account, my friend and I decided that we would host a podcast in his car this past summer, and we never even recorded a single clip of footage. This raised a question, what does it take to actually commit to something instead of just saying you’ll get to it later?

Underestimating the Work

There has probably been an instance in your life where you underestimated something or someone and you ended up being baffled as to how hard it was to cooperate with it. For example, maybe you had this teacher who was laidback and went easy on students, but halfway through the school year they showed their true colors. This could be applied to starting a podcast. It sounds easy in the beginning, but once you actually need to be relatable and interesting, you’re lost. I found that giving it a second thought and researching before making a commitment made my life a whole lot easier. Thats for commitment, as for procrastination, I started scheduling my days through different methods and I found that time-boxing was…

--

--