Learn Python Basics while making Greek Salad

Arjun Bastola
5 min readFeb 22, 2020

So my little cousin wanted to learn basic Python programming and called me.

Her: “I have been having hard time learning Python from this professor. Will you be able to help?

Me: “Of course. Let’s do this. Tell me what you ate for lunch.”

Her: “Greek Salad.”

Me: “Meet me at Dunkin in an hour and I will teach you how to make Greek Salad in Python.”

Her: “Kekeke.” (Her version of okay. Weird but cute.)

Source: https://i.ytimg.com/vi/MXcMV-d_2Js/maxresdefault.jpg

Me and my cousin agreed that salad making process will involve 4 major steps:

Step 1: Get all the items out.
Step 2: Cut all veggies or whatever you want to put in the salad.
Step 3: Mix all the items.
Step 4: Eat.

Step 1: Getting all the items out.

Alright, so we will need a bowl to mix the salad, a chopping board, a knife and all the ingredients (lettuce, onion, cucumber, cherry tomatoes, olives, goat cheese, dressing).

Now, let’s write a python statement that indicates/asserts that we took out bowl from the cabinet. We can simply use print statement to do this.

print("Bowl is out.")

--

--

Arjun Bastola

Little bit of everything! CS Grad from GaTech (Grad) and RamapoCollege (UnderGrad).