I have felt the Holy Spirit like water washing over me, like a water that cleanses, purifies, and which comforts the soul in ways words cannot describe. I have felt the Holy Spirit like a friend standing by my side in the darkest of mental places, comforting me deep in my spirit. I have sometimes felt the Lord extending his hand to comfort me, like a large warm palm that was resting on my back and protecting me.

Arjun G. Menon
2 min readFeb 3, 2024

--

I have felt the Holy Spirit in a personal intimate way that’s hard to describe, but the closest human experience to it would be a thirsty man who hasn’t had water for days drinking the most incredible refreshing and thirst-quenching water in the world. A water that gives life, that provides spiritual and mental comfort, that brings joy.

I have felt the Holy Spirit in ways that are oh so visceral and real, that it almost like he was physically there, surrounding me and wrapping like a warm-yet-cool blanket.

His presence has sometimes felt like a clean crisp water, washing over my face, my feet, my body.

I have felt so protected, when the Holy Spirit’s presence was with me.

Nothing compares to the love that the God, the Holy Spirit showers on us.

I have felt that water before, and I wish to dwell in it again, forever.

I love the Lord.

I am reminded of David’s Pslam 23 (NJKV):

The Lord is my shepherd;
I shall not want.
He makes me to lie down in green pastures;
He leads me beside the still waters.
He restores my soul;

He leads me in the paths of righteousness for His name’s sake.

Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death,
I will fear no evil;
For You are with me
;
Your rod and Your staff, they comfort me.

You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies;
You anoint my head with oil; My cup runs over.
Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me
All the days of my life; And I will dwell in the house of the Lord Forever.

--

--