You shouldn’t worry about CCAT

Arkadi Berikashvili
3 min readJan 4, 2023

--

Even if you are not native english speaker

Photo: © 12minprep.com

Once you came over here, I guess you are going to take or failed CCAT test on Crossover.
So, in this simple blog post, I’ll explain you, why it’s not so scary as it looks, even if you are not native english speaker.
Yes, I’m not native speaker as well and my score was 38 from 50.

Why am I writing this article?

In case if you are here to find out some real questions and answers from XO test, you’re at the wrong address. Crossover CCAT content is confidential and I’m not going to exposing anything from there. The purpose of this article is to help you to better manage yourself and not to be scared once you see your first test in real life.

What is CCAT test and what’s the purpose

CCAT stands for Criteria Cognitive Aptitude Test. It consists of 50 questions, the threshold score is 35 and you have 15 minutes to pass it.
CCAT’s main purpose is to check, how person can solve problems and think critically.

What type of questions will I have to deal with?

There’re simple Math / Logical questions, Math tasks, English word analogies, Logical tasks.
You can explore similar questions on the internet, there’re some nice practice sites like 12minprep.com.

Which type of questions are the scariest?

Simple math and simple logic? - NO
Math tasks? - You need to some time to think, do some calculations (you can use paper and pen for it during real test), but NO
Logical tasks? - Same here, you need to time to think but NO
English word analogies? - hell YES. Most people fail the test because of this.

Why English word analogies are so hard to solve?

Because, I saw the words there, I couldn’t even guess what they are. It was my first time to see those words in my life. And many people forget that’s words are not math or logic, to invest few more seconds for thinking and guess the answer. You either know it, or you don’t and here they’re wasting their golden seconds and after they proceed to the next questions, see that they don’t have enough time anymore and start stressing, stress brings some demotivation too and we all know how difficult is to be productive under such pressure.

My personal CCAT experience

When I took my first CCAT in my life, my score was 15 or less but after finding the approach my score increased to 38. NO CHEATING!

How I approach CCAT test (NO CHEATING)

Prerequisites: Good rest, be in shape with school math.
Let’s divide the details. Once we have to solve 50 questions during 15 minutes, it means we have only 18 seconds for each question. Some questions are so simple, that you can solve them in less than 3 seconds, but there’re also tasks that will take way more that 18 seconds, that means you don’t have the luxury of idleness. I don’t remember exact number of all types of questions, but the english part are 15 questions, and here’s the strength of my approach.
ONCE YOU SAW ENGLISH (VERBAL) TASK / QUESTION, BE FAST, CHECK ANY RANDOM ANSWER AND CLICK NEXT. NO NEED TO THINK AND WASTE TIME, EVEN IF YOU GUESS AFTER 1 MINUTE THINKING, IT’S NOT WORTH. YOU WILL LOSE CONSIDERABLE TIME THAT YOU COULD USE TO SOLVE OTHER QUESTIONS.
English part, all 15 questions, if you check them randomly, b. for example and go to next question, you will waste 2 seconds and save 16 seconds. In summary you will have extra 4 minutes, to use for thinking, calculation etc. You can have few lucky hits also from 15 random answer.

Conclusion

  • For simple question, be as fast as you can, but not so fast to make stupid mistakes.
  • For english part, be fast and move to next one with the random answer.
  • Enjoy extra 4+ minutes for solving math and logical tasks

Good Luck.

--

--