Is Sarcasm Rude and Disrespectful?

ArmaniTalks
5 min readJun 15, 2023

Sarcasm is very polarizing.

Some people love it.

Others hate it.

I’m of the latter group.

I hate sarcasm.

But I won’t say that it’s a bad thing, yet.

Did you ever see two different sarcastic people get together?

They are engaging in one dry joke after another.

Slowly, they are building rapport with one another.

In this article, I’m going to break down sarcasm and the ins and outs of it.

I’ll explain why some love it, why others hate it, and why others are confused by it.

What is Sarcasm?

Sarcasm is creating a hyperbolic statement, concept and/or joke.

Sometimes, it is funny.

Other times, it is rude.

‘What’s an example of sarcasm?’

One time, I went to Philadelphia.

I called for an Uber.

It took some time and the driver eventually came.

I saw the car but the license plate was covered in frost.

I ask the driver:

--

--

ArmaniTalks

An artistic engineer storytelling his experiences with public speaking, social skills, EQ, creativity & level up mentality 🌍🚀