Thoughts vs Ideas: What’s the Difference?

ArmaniTalks
5 min readFeb 15, 2024

Thoughts and ideas are different.

Thoughts are loose and all over the place.

While ideas are interconnected thoughts that provide value to someone.

When you wake up in the morning, you have a bunch of thoughts:

  • Should I go back to sleep?
  • Why did Ms. Shepherd yell at me in the 1st grade?
  • I wonder what my workday is going to be like.

These thoughts are all over the place and have no theme.

With an idea, we create some sort of filter to determine which thoughts are relevant and which are not.

An idea has a theme.

Any dummy can have thoughts, while a few folks can have ideas.

A few folks can have ideas, while fewer folks can execute those ideas.

A Deeper Look Into Thoughts

The mind is a thought-generating machine.

For the longest time, I thought meditation was about trying to shut my mind off.

The goal during my sessions was to cultivate a blank mind.

But each time I aimed for emptiness, I failed.

--

--

ArmaniTalks

An artistic engineer storytelling his experiences with public speaking, social skills, EQ, creativity & level up mentality 🌍🚀