Make Sandalwood Rose Essential Oil Perfume

Essential oils smell good . . . naturally

Andrea Butje, Aromahead Institute
2 min readNov 20, 2018

I like to smell good, too . . . naturally!

So it probably doesn’t surprise you that I’m a huge fan of making my own essential oil perfume.

I’ve created many recipes for hard perfume balms and roll-on blends over the years, and I record my favorites so I can make them over again.

I want to share an essential oil perfume blend with Sandalwood and Rose that I think you’ll love. The roller-top bottles I like to use hold about .35 oz (10 ml) of liquid. It’s just a little bigger than a lip balm tube.

Sandalwood Rose Essential Oil Perfume

  • .35 oz (10 ml) vanilla-infused jojoba (Simmondsia chinensis)
  • 8 drops Sandalwood essential oil (Santalum paniculatum)
  • 2 drop Rose absolute (Rose damascena)

You can blend your vanilla-infused jojoba and essential oils right in the bottle. I like to add my essential oils one drop at a time to be sure I love the aroma. Then just snap the roller-top into place, and you can roll some of your perfume onto your wrists.

I keep my essential oil drop count low in roll-on perfume blends, because I’m not blending it into much jojoba.

If you want a little more room to play with your essential oil drops, you can make your perfume blend in a 1 oz (30 ml) bottle.

Use about 30 drops of essential oil total. (I make my natural perfumes at about a 3–5% dilution. As we use so little and want the aroma to last for a few hours, this one is 5%). Then you can pour some of the oil from your 1 oz (30 ml) bottle right into the roller-top perfume bottle. Now when you run out of perfume you’ll have more in reserve!

Here are a few more ideas for essential oils you can use:

Geranium Yuzu Essential Oil Perfume

  • 5 drops Geranium (Pelargonium roseum x asperum)
  • 5 drops Yuzu (Citrus junos)

Lavender Vetiver Essential Oil Perfume

  • 3 drops Lavender (Lavandula angustifolia)
  • 7 drops Vetiver (Vetiveria zizanoides)

I get roller-top bottles from Aromatics International.

They have some nice options, including colored glass roller-top bottles with metal rollers, so your essential oil perfumes won’t be exposed to light.

It’s a lot of fun to poke around on their website. They have so many wonderful oils, butters, bottles and Aromatherapy supplies!

--

--

Andrea Butje, Aromahead Institute

Founder of Aromahead Institute, an internationally recognized online school dedicated to the study of essential oils. www.aromahead.com