Walking through the city, creating yourself!

Arpita Biswas
2 min readJul 18, 2022

--

Friday afternoon browsing through the city of old Toronto

Last weekend, I was playing Dora and exploring the city of downtown Toronto at leisure with a friend on Friday (thanks to my Summer Schedule in office!), we were browsing through beautiful unknown streets, cozy local markets, came across welcoming local people, where everybody had to offer something unique from their own culture, be a shop owner or a shopper! From selling incredible hand-made jewelries, amazing foods & beverages, beautiful varieties of succulent to the amazing walls behind, painted with creative graffiti! at Kensington Market in old Toronto.

Next day, more as a Flâneuse, I suddenly happened to find a treasure trove while walking through the most happening Queen Street in downtown and got fascinated with the classic collection of pop and rock music records in a standalone store and which seemed quite popular amongst a large cohort of youths! That immediately brought me to my childhood memory lane when my father used to play gramophone records from his very own and great collection of the classics. Someone has truly said “the street is an invisible university if you know how to look”, so exploring the narrow lanes and wide roads of the cities are the best options if you really want to feel the vibe of a city and the culture! I simply enjoyed my two hours’ walk of fame! This eventually transformed me into a self-motivated person, as now I know, how to be lost in the crowd, how to spend a non-selfie day, how to find your joy in doing small things you love.. and I cherish the feeling that says to myself that I’m “born free”!

Last but not the least as Bernard Shaw said, “Life isn’t about finding yourself; life is about creating yourself”

--

--