Don’t Let Money Hold You Back: How to Apply for Financial Aid on Coursera Courses

Arsalan Bin Tariq
7 min readMay 2, 2023

--

Are you someone interested in taking an online course on Coursera but worried about the cost? Well, don’t be afraid! Coursera offers financial aid to those who qualify, so they can pursue their educational goals without any financial burden. In this article, we’ll explore how to apply for financial aid for Coursera courses and make sure money doesn’t get in the way of your educational dreams.

Explore courses by careers: https://www.coursera.org/career-academy/

Explore different careers

Step 1: Choose Your Course

The first step in applying for financial aid on Coursera is choosing the course you want to take. Coursera offers a wide range of courses from top universities and institutions, including business, engineering, data science, and more. Once you have chosen your course of study, look for financial aid options on the course page.

Select your career path and certification

Select the course you wish to apply for financial aid and Click on ‘Financial Aid Available’ beside the Enroll for Free button.

Financial Aid Available option on course page

If the selection is a Professional Certificate, it will comprise more than one course and ask you to select the course you wish to apply for financial aid right now. Click next to continue with the Financial aid application.

Course selection for applying financial aid for a certification

On the contrary, if you’re applying for a single course you’ll get a popup like below highlighting the course you wish to apply financial aid for. Click the ‘Continue to the application button’ to continue with the Financial aid application.

Course selection for applying financial aid for a single course

Step 2: Complete the Financial Aid Application

You will need to complete a financial aid application after identifying your financial aid options on the course page. The application form asks for basic personal and financial information, including your income and the size of your home. You will also need to answer a few questions about why you need financial aid and what you hope to achieve through the course. Be sure to answer accurately and honestly to increase your chances of being approved for financial aid.

Coursera Financial Aid Form 1/2

Set your latest education details

Set your Education completed

Set your income to 0$ USD if you’re a student without a job and can’t afford to pay for the course.

Set income to 0$ if you’re a student

Set your employment status as student to be able to get financial aid.

Set employment status as ‘Student’

Write a reason for applying for financial aid. This should cover the reasons you wish to get financial aid. This can include not having a job, financial constraints in the family, learning opportunities, etc.

Reason you applied for aid

Here’s an example:

Dear [Coursera Support Team],

I am writing to apply for financial aid to support my learning journey on the platform. I have always been passionate about [insert relevant field or topic], and I believe that the courses offered on Coursera can provide me with the knowledge and skills necessary to pursue my goals.

Unfortunately, due to [insert relevant financial circumstance], I am unable to afford the course fees at this time. However, I am determined to continue my education and believe that financial aid would provide me with the opportunity to do so.

I am committed to completing the course to the best of my ability and utilizing the knowledge gained to further my personal and professional development. Additionally, I am eager to give back to the Coursera community by sharing my newfound knowledge with others and contributing to online discussions and forums.

Thank you for considering my application. I appreciate the opportunity to continue my learning journey and look forward to the possibility of being awarded financial aid.

Sincerely, [Your Name]

After filling in all the required info check mark the ‘I’ve reviewed my information and everything is upto date’ and click the Next button

After clicking Next you’ll be required to fill in some more information. Hang in there, this won’t be long…

Coursera Financial Aid Form 2/2

Set this bar to 0$ if you’re unable to pay as you’re applying for financial aid

You would need to write about the goals that you wish to achieve by taking up the course you’re applying financial aid for. Coursera needs to understand why they should give you financial aid for the course and want to see the conviction to finish this course.

Here’s an example:

Dear [Coursera Support Team],

I am excited to apply for the [insert course name] on Coursera as I believe it will be instrumental in helping me achieve my personal and professional goals. By completing this course, I will gain valuable knowledge and skills that will directly contribute to my growth and development.

[Insert specific examples of how the course will help with your goals, such as learning a new programming language, acquiring digital marketing skills, or gaining a deeper understanding of a specific field.]

Furthermore, the flexibility of the course allows me to balance my learning with my current responsibilities, such as work or family obligations. This means that I can continue to pursue my goals while maintaining my other commitments.

I am confident that the skills and knowledge I gain from this course will not only benefit me but also contribute to my team or organization. I am eager to apply what I learn and bring new insights and perspectives to my work.

Thank you for considering my application. I am excited about the opportunity to learn and grow on Coursera and look forward to the possibility of being accepted into the [insert course name].

Sincerely, [Your Name]

You would need to type the sentence ‘I agree to the terms above’ to continue with the application

Once you’re done filling in all the details, go ahead and click review to proceed further.

On the next page, you’ll see the two sections you’ve submitted information for with options to edit the information. If you’re ready to submit the application click ‘Submit Application’ to submit the financial aid form.

Step 3: Wait for Approval

Once you submit your financial aid application, you will need to wait for approval. The approval process can take up to 15 days, so be sure to schedule your study accordingly. Once your application has been approved, you will receive an email notification of how to register for the course.

Step 4: Enroll in the Course

Once you have been approved for financial aid, you can enroll in the course and begin studying. Financial aid will cover all tuition and certification fees, so you can focus on studying without worrying about the financial burden. Make sure you complete the course within the specified time and meet the requirements for a certificate of completion.

Conclusion

Once you have been approved for financial aid, you can enroll in the course and begin studying. Financial aid will cover all tuition and certification fees, so you can focus on studying without worrying about the financial burden. Make sure you complete the course within the specified time and meet the requirements for a certificate of completion.

Thanks for reading! If this article added value to you, please give it as many claps 👏 as you can! Clapping is free and helps me get the content out to more readers 🙌

--

--

Arsalan Bin Tariq

User Experience (UX) | Interaction Design | Product Designer