Reflection on the RTTP Game

Amanda
2 min readApr 6, 2017

--

The game itself was very interesting, but I felt that I was a bit out of place. I felt confused because my character, herself was a villager. She is a wife of a wild card. Being in her shoes, I felt weird connecting because people knew me as Max Eastman’s wife. Since my character is very subtle, but she clearly does not take Max’s last name. Since we were not supposed to share anything on our role sheets to anyone in the game, I did not know exactly what to do. I had my own doubts, since my character Ida is known for her acting skills. I was confused about the generalization of assignments, which were known as points; the PIPS. I followed Jack Reed’s and the villagers’ tracks. I kept on doing what I needed to do with the PIP’s which I did not focus on my own writing of an One Act. I simply decided to publish it on Max’s Publication of The Masses. I felt in general that the game was fun, to see everyone being involved. The speeches were very well done and the debates were hysterically heated. I appreciated all of the work that many people have done to make it feel as if we were warped into the 1913’s New York Greenwich Village. As I went through the game, I had some flashbacks from my recent Jan term in New York City. I remember walking through the NYU Tisch Building. I also remember strolling through Greenwich Village as well as the Washington Square Park. When I glanced at the book’s images, I remembered seeing some of those sights. Even though it was at a different time period than the 1900’s. In the game itself, I tried to imagine that we were on the other side of the nation. The game was also a tough experience because we were trying to portray history in the rise of suffrage and the desire of feminism. I also was a bit confused by the ending of the game. Where we had to make a second vote and as a result of that, the Villager created faction was blown out. I felt that it was confusing at first, because of the lack of time to work on characters and development, and if it were to be played again some day in the future; it would be fixed. This game was a good experience and a fun practice of role playing. I got to learn more about myself more as I stepped into my character’s shoes as if I were in a play. Overall, I feel that this game deserves to be played over again sometime in the future for other classes.

--

--