A Guide to Prepare for DevOps Engineer Job Interview — part 2

A-Dem
8 min readFeb 5, 2023

A DevOps Engineer is being interviewed for a position at a software company. The interviewer is looking for a candidate who has a strong understanding of Linux, Git, Docker, Kubernetes, and CI/CD.

DevOps Engineer Being Interviewed

Interviewer: Can you tell us about your experience with Linux?

DevOps Engineer: Sure! I have been working with Linux for over 5 years now. I am proficient in navigating the terminal, managing files and directories, and performing common system administration tasks such as installing software, setting up users, and managing services.

Interviewer: Can you walk us through your Git workflow?

DevOps Engineer: Sure! I typically start by creating a feature branch from the main development branch. Then I make my changes, commit them, and push the feature branch to the remote repository. I then create a pull request to merge the feature branch into the development branch. Before merging, I review the changes with my team and make any necessary adjustments.

Interviewer: Can you explain how you use Docker in your projects?

DevOps Engineer: Sure! I use Docker to create containers for my applications. Containers allow me to isolate my application and its dependencies, making it easier to deploy and run on any platform. I also use…

--

--

A-Dem

Writing for fun! Tech, non-tech, funny, self improvement, devops, developing, coding etc...