How to restart your Wacom Tablet Driver in 5 seconds or less with AppleScript (macOS)

Arturo Acevedo
2 min readFeb 9, 2021

--

Photo by BRUNO EMMANUELLE on Unsplash

I will show you how to restart your Wacom tablet driver with a press of a shortcut. The key to this is AppleScript and a way to run that script.

The AppleScript

on run
set app_name to "WacomTabletDriver"
do shell script "killall " & app_name
delay 1
tell application app_name to activate
end run

It’s very barebones. It looks up the driver process and kills it, then waits one second and runs it again. That’s it.

I run the script via Keyboard Maestro so I just need to press some keys in my keyboard, but you could run an executable (you can download it here) via Spotlight or Alfred. I run the script, wait few seconds and the tablet works again.

Keyboard Maestro Integration

So that’s how you restart your Wacom tablet with AppleScript! I wish you a bug-free drawing session!

If you valued this piece of content, do me a favour and give it some claps and share it with somebody because it really helps me out and it helps me to continue to make valuable content like this for you ❤

Troubleshooting

If for any reason, the driver stops but doesn’t restart, you can run it manually by:

Just a little visual aid.
  1. Open the Wacom Tablet folder in your application folder (⇧⌘A to get to the Applications folder in Finder)
  2. Hit ⇧⌘. to reveal hidden files.
  3. Open the folder called “.Tablet”.
  4. Run the app called “WacomTabletDriver.app”
  5. Hit ⇧⌘. again to hide those files.
  6. That’s it!

You could also try increasing the delay in the AppleScript to 2 or more to give the computer more time.

--

--

Arturo Acevedo

I’m a student that is a bit obsessed with design-driven productions, the philosophy of design, and computers. My website: arturoacevedo.design