1 Hack to Turn off the overactive mind at night to sleep fast

Arunima Singh
4 min readNov 24, 2023

--

Insomnia , overactive mind at night, unable to sleep
Photo by Ben Blennerhassett on Unsplash

My right cheek started aching when it rubbed the cream and golden-colored medium silk square pillow. Still half asleep in the morning, my mind jumped out of bed at the ache and went on like a crazy bitch ranting to me everything that can go wrong in my life with that ache, truth bombs over truth bombs. “OMG! My cheeks are aching. I am getting more acne. My skin will be destroyed after some time if I don’t take any action. PCOD must have worsened. Should I see a doctor? They will give birth control pills. I would rather cure it myself.”

The next thing I remember was my mum coming and standing near my side of the bed and asking if I slept on time last night (as I was unable to sleep on time the last few days, I slept at 4 AM a day before). Inside my soft and warm blanket, taking a turn to her side, I said yes and then covered my face with the blanket, showing her I was still planning to sleep more. She said your water (hot) was on the table and went away. It signals that I should get up now, and drink water before she prepares the tea in the kitchen, just outside my room; by now she must have put the utensil with water on the stove.

I got up and walked pushing the weight of my body in a drowsy state towards the washroom.

I came back, drank my water, slopped back on my bed, and waited for the tea, which must be coming anytime now, forcing myself not to pick up my phone in the morning; This was when I suddenly remembered my last night’s experiment.

This is how to sleep fast

Mum came with the tea in a tray, hers and mine. She sat diagonally to me and put the tray in between. We started sipping the tea while eating a salty snack with it. I was excited to tell her about the success I achieved last night.

I told her with pride “You know yesterday also I was unable to sleep. My eyes were wide awake. I tried and tried but it was just not coming. My mind was just continuously going on and on, thinking about career, money,(when will I get married) and what not. I tried to play sleep music of 20 minutes length, it went off after 20 minutes; but I was still wide-eyed awake to witness at some point of time, that there was no music playing. I got frustrated with an aching head going mad with all the thoughts, and then this thought came that I had to sleep on time today because the last few days were the same and today i had decided i will sleep on time, though that target has already gone to dust but at least I should be able to sleep before it’s too late, it felt like i was losing and i am competitive.

In that moment of frustration,

(within the darkness of the night in which was immersed a bit of light coming from the moon through — the window on the right side of my room and the open wooden balcony door on the window’s side) I decided, looking at the fan on the ceiling and scanning the room with my eyes,

to focus on the present moment fully, by focusing my attention on my surroundings and not give space to my mind to chatter.

I set my eyes on the fan and not let my sight and focus waver from it. I decided to not let my mind take me for small trips.

But to my surprise,

even when I was ready with the spears, there was silence, utter silence. All the noise was gone. It seemed the mind had decided to give up trying altogether. That much power I had in that moment. And the next thing was me waking up in the morning. That means I slept while doing that exercise. It worked. It really worked.” I said overjoyed.

She was just listening to me with a smile and said that thoughts get too aggravated at night, she too sometimes witnesses it if she starts to worry about even slightest of things at night, it takes a bigger form. Told me to sleep early.

P.S.

If you liked this article

  • consider giving a clap or two and follow me to not miss my other posts.

Will meet again. Till then Bye!

--

--

Arunima Singh

Hi Community! I talk about stuffs for the betterment of Humans and society; occasionally about my writing journey and personal journey. Come Hop on the train.