Positive Reflection

Asad Ali
6 min readOct 8, 2021

--

Reflection is looking into a mirror and describing what you see. While Positive reflection is looking at something and describing what you see plus points and positive areas of that and what impact that has made on you. Positive reflection is sharing your experiences that other things and people made on us and how they positively change our lives.

“Reflection is one of the most underused yet powerful tools for success.” Richard Carlson

My Positive Reflection on Amal Fellowship:

Start of the journey:

My journey with Amal Family started 3 months ago and now this is going to end. But I think only my fellowship will end but I will always be a part of this family. During this journey, I learned a lot of new things, know about myself, learn and develop many personal and professional skills. It helps me to make myself that person which I want to be and helps me to learn how to live a purposeful life. And now I am going to share positive reflections about Amal.

Know Yourself:

This is a great part of the Amal fellowship that always knows your weakness and strengths. If we want to make progress then we should have our strengths. We should know about our weakness and try to eradicate with time. I know it is easy to know about strengths and forget about weaknesses. But when we ignore our weaknesses, these grow larger and larger with time and then become a dune. So we should always try to eradicate them timely.

We should always follow our passion and think about what we want to do. That will be a great joy. And during this fellowship I come to know many of my weaknesses, also eradicated some of them and working on some mores.

The older you are, the wiser you are. The more comfortable you are in your own skin, the more you know yourself, the more patient you are. I don’t sweat the small stuff anymore. Alesha Dixon

Always be grateful:

Be Grateful

One of my favorite parts of this fellowship is always grateful and show gratitude. In our life, there are many lollipop moments and many times many people played a great role in our life. And in return what do we say? THANK YOU! GRATEFUL TO YOU! ADMIRE YOU! Is it enough? Is this make them realize that what they did is great for us? Of course not at all. So Amal helps us to realize this and provides a chance to show gratitude to someone important in our life. So I wrote gratitude cards to them to realize what great part they played in our life. It also teaches us how to show gratitude to the different persons that spent time with us such as a friend, teacher, interviewer and an unknown person.

“Gratitude makes sense of our past, brings peace for today, and creates a vision for tomorrow.” — Melody Beattie

Procrastination, Importance of Time and Pomodoro Technique:

Your time is precious.

The key is in not spending time, but in investing it. — Stephen R. Covey.

Before the start of my journey with Amal, I spent hours on youtube, video games and chatting. But during this fellowship, I realize the importance of time. I realize that I wasted this most precious and worthy thing senselessly. Then I started procrastination and Pomodoro techniques that were really grateful. I learned how I can manage time easily and how can perform better in a short time. I also come to know the importance of timely work.

Better three hours too soon than a minute too late. — William Shakespeare

How to accomplish your dream:

Invest time today on yourself to get it in the future.

Stop Waiting For Friday, For Summer, For Someone To Fall In Love With You, For Life. Happiness Is Achieved When You Stop Waiting For It And Make The Most Of The Moment You Are In Now.

Amal teaches us really great things that as how to follow our dream and achieve it. Amal helps us how to write a superhero resume. It teaches how to write a great cover letter and email. It prepared us for a wonderful interview. I didn’t have any interviews before joining this journey. But the mock interview was really helpful. I came to know my weak points, confidence and how to face panic situations. I didn't perform well but I learned a lot. And I am going to apply this for coming jobs, interviews and internships in the future.

Do What You Have To Do Until You Can Do What You Want To Do.

Be patient:

always show patience.

This is one of those things that I practiced and enjoyed during the whole journey. Amal taught me how to be patient and how to control myself. I learned what the circumstances are, what difficulties we are facing, what harsh is happening and what if things are going opposite, we should show patience as it is key to all problems. We can face great and large difficulties with patience.

“Learning patience can be a difficult experience, but once conquered, you will find life is easier. Catherine Pulsifer

How much of this realization was the result of the way the other people/person around you acted and exhibited their energy?

I think what we learn from experiences is the result of the effect that other cast on our life. From childhood to older age, we continuously learn from others. So the almost of realization that I learned was the result of the way the other people/person around you acted and exhibited their energy

You cannot get through a single day without having an impact on the world around you. What you do make a difference, and you have to decide what kind of difference you want to make.” Jane Goodall

Looking back, how do you think you would do things differently?

When I look backward in my life that what I did in past I became sorrowful and sad that I didn't learn too much. I wasted my time in games, movies and chatting. I could better invest it by reading English books, novels and working on my weakness. I wish I could get my past again.

“Time is free, but it’s priceless. You can’t own it, but you can use it. You can’t keep it, but you can spend it. Once you’ve lost it you can never get it back.” — Harvey Mackay

But now I realized my mistakes and weakness. And now I am going to invest my time properly, do some fruitful and change my weakness into strengths. I am going to use it properly and live a positive and purposeful life.

Thank you Amal for positively changing my life.

--

--