Birth of Cupid.

Nana Ofosu Asante
1 min readJul 4, 2022

--

Pain teaches my brain peace of mind.

Love eroding old barriers,

would you lead me if I were blind?

My mind had always been in a dark place,

In a wilderness, inches within my own soma.

Yet the lines that drew the box within which I found space,

seemed to copy from the symmetry of your face.

In a cold season, you became a cloak that fits the soul.

Someone call the medics; my heart now sits impaled on a pole.

My Red, was our love not the birthplace of Shakespeare?

Then why we did we not let it die a natural death?

We left it so broken, our friends couldn’t identify its mortal relic.

I hope in my sadness you’re happy now,

I hope as I fight to reclaim my emblem, you find warmth in his coat of arms.

Made from my ribs, but tied by god’s ribbon,

You’ve left me with nothing but arrows in my quiver and people as my game.

Hearts never learn,

Where love dwells, desire is love’s one true passion.

--

--

Nana Ofosu Asante

Free thinker, Leisure writer because full time writers die young🙃.