One Pillow Wonder

Asha Elaine
4 min readOct 20, 2020

This blog was originally posted on ashaelaine.com on September 29, 2020.

My friend Autumn and I discuss a lot about grown men who only have one pillow on their bed. Now, I am not saying that men, or anyone for that matter, need to have a million decorative pillows laid out on their beds, but at this big age… come on. Support your neck!

Last year, after setting myself free from a man who constantly gaslighted me, owed me money, and made me lose sight of myself, I was introduced to “Power Bae.” He and I went to the same college at the same time, but we didn’t know each other while we were in school. After our initial outing for drinks, we began to watch Power on Sundays together; hence, the name.

The first time I went over to his apartment, he childishly asked me if I wanted to see his room. I instantly felt like younger me during my freshman year of college when guys would come up with lame ways to get me in the bed. Why do I care to come see your room? Anyways, I followed him into his room and I immediately blurted out, “Not you only having one pillow!” I caught him off guard, and he laughed off my statement trying to shoot jokes back at me. Eventually, he did end up getting TWO new pillows for his bed. Talk about the power of influence…or shaming.

As expected, Power Bae tried to be slick and make his move. Because I was trying to…

--

--

Asha Elaine

I define my own freedom daily. I write my opinions. I am also a full and active member of the BeyHive.