Manhattan 1979

Ashish Namdeo
2 min readDec 18, 2023

--

from https://www.vintagemovieposters.co.uk/shop/manhattan-movie-poster/

Today i watched Manhattan (1979) movie. This is the first time i watched a Woody Allen’s movie. I cant stop myself writing about this movie. Everything of that movie was fantastic. Let me tell you about myself that i am not a movie critic and i dont have the technical knowledge about movie. I am writing this article based my own experience while watching the movie.

I loved the way movie was shot completely in Black and white. It was refreshing to movie. After very long i watched a movie shot in Black & white in the era of Color movies. The music of the movie is apt and it gives you a relaxing feeling in the background and makes you engage with the movie. It helps you connected with every scene of the movie.

Every scene of the movie is scenic. It captures the Manhattan of 1970’s. I am from India and i have never been to New york but watched New York so many times in the movies that it felt that it is very place which is similar to me. I can see the difference in the place from today to 1970’s. The Manhattan bridge scene in Black & white is so beautiful that it gives you the feeling that lets go and sit with some one and spend time.

The story of the movie is very simple yet very refreshing i felt. The maturity of the character and the openness yet very sophisticated is awesome. The simplicity of every character, it makes every character human, the real life people who lives beside with us and maybe within us. We can connect with every single character and yet the movie is very progressive and intellectual. i like the story, the character of the movie. Every one was playing a character which is very regular normal human being but the acting is awesome. it never felt that there is a superficiality in the characters.

I never felt with any movie in such a deep level that i will write about the movie. This is very first time for me but it is connected with me. It gave me avery nice feeling of watching a very simple,fun and entertainig cinema. They say that in storytelling you need one contrasting factor to such as villain to keep the story engaging but i didnt feel in the movie that any single character is negative. Everyone is human playing their humanely roles and trying to as real as possible. Such a nice movie and such an interesting movie. Loved every scene, every part of the movie. Thank you so much Woody Allen for such a simple yet special movie experience.

Citation: Poster — Manhattan — https://www.vintagemovieposters.co.uk/shop/manhattan-movie-poster/

--

--