Shelter In Place Photoshoot Ideas

Ashland Young
3 min readMay 16, 2020

With the current state of everything going on right now I think it’s important to continue being creative and making new art. Anyone’s capable of doing photography at home, even with limited resources, you just have to be creative! Here’s a list of photography ideas you can personalize and do in the comfort of your own home, with any kind of camera, even your phone!

  1. Photograph your pets!
My dog, Aurora, and I went out into the backyard the other day and had a whole photoshoot!

Photographing pets can be hard, but you can practice at home! Some things that make it easier are to hold your pet’s favorite toy or treat above the camera to get them to focus. Pets are also calmer and more still for photographs after a play session.

2. Photograph flowers blooming in your yard.

Flowers are starting to bloom and I’m finding new ones all over my yard

It’s Spring! I bet there’s some new flowers around your yard. Try photographing them from new angles, underneath or directly above them. You’d be surprised how different flowers look from new angles.

3. Repurpose old items for photoshoots

An old broken record I smashed to play with the pieces for a photoshoot

If you’re anything like me you have a ton of old stuff you just haven’t thrown out yet. Try ripping fabric and breaking stuff to see how the shape of the pieces fall and how the form looks when you’re photographing it.

4. Use stuff around you to create a new narrative

I used my godson’s playroom and cape as a props to create this photograph

I was trying to create a new narrative and challenge my brain and I ended up using my godson’s playroom to create a narrative about how exhausting it can be sometimes pretending to be a superhero for the little ones you love.

These are just a few things to get your mind going thinking about how to create art in your home. Just because we’re stuck at home doesn’t mean we have to stop creating. Art is a great way to express how you feel and get out energy while you’re quarantined or sheltering in place.

To see my photography you can follow me at:

Instagram: @AshlandYoungPhotos

Facebook.com/AshlandYoungPhotos

Twitter: @AshlandYPhotos

--

--

Ashland Young

Fine Art photographer based out of the East Bay Area in California.