Soul Ties, How Real Could They Be. Really??

Ashley Anesu
3 min readMay 26, 2020

--

How much do we know about Soul Ties? Pastor Mike Todd might shock you into tears but I don’t know if he really has all the answers.

By Logan Sylve

I’ve been having the best time diving onto the Twitter timeline, what with the mayhem of cancelling a whole bunch of people, this last week of May has been something.
Today, I was minding my business scrolling through twitter, innocently laughing at the Doja Cat mess of an apology along with the Instagram live videos she had posted (comment section still blocked, of course), laughing away.

Now we know it’s at these moments of complete relaxation and non-expectancy the devil decides to strike against us, isn’t it! Because sure enough, I was in complete relaxation mode when I was bombarded by the Mike Todd sermon on SOUL TIES.

Oh yes. You read that right. Soul Ties, ladies and gentlemen!
Now, you know the church loves to preach on a good soul tie! I mean what’s more soul crushing than the thought of possibly having multiple souls tied to your being, that according to Paster Todd, are spirits attached to you, following your every move as you participate in your everyday activities?!

Maybe that’s why I always feel like I’m being watched, even when I’m in a room… completely alone. Oh, just me? Yikes!
For those unfamiliar with the theology of Soul Ties, I’m going to give you a crash course on the 3 main points pastors love to preach to the congregation.

  1. Hooking up/ Sexual Intimacy = tying yourself to another person on a spiritual and emotional level,
  2. Separating yourself from that person could cause “Ripping of the soul’ = resulting in a piece of you being taken with them.
  3. You’ll never be anything God called you to be because people are walking around with pieces of you” = idk what Pastor Todd was saying here but I guess it was something about condemnation.

Now that you’re all caught up, let’s continue, shall we.

On a serious note, after watching the sermon I was in utter despair because there was a whole lotta Purity Culture involved in that preaching. I couldn’t stop thinking about its jarring presence in the church. I could go as far as to say the church strongly profits on the teachings of Purity Culture! In my utter despair, I took to Instagram Stories to have the public participate in the discussion. I’m not going to lie, I really just wanted to know how many people agreed with his mindset. And oh boy was I thrown!

By Logan Sylve

There were 3 things that really surprised me about the responses I received:

  1. A lot of women have never heard of Purity Culture, nor do they understand what it means.

Not only are people unaware of Purity Culture or the dangers involved in preaching it, they have not acknowledged it to be damaging to the collective’s conscious behaviour.

2. Everyone was making a point to note that defending feminism blinds us of the true lessons in sermons.

Apparently, you can’t be a feminist, fight misogynoir or patriarchy and claim Christianity.

3. No damn body wanted to be told they were wrong.

I guess disagreeing with sermons or oppressive views being preached is blasphemous?

I would say my responses were about 50–50. Half of them believed in Soul Ties and the repercussions of them and the other half refused to engage with the thought due to the lack of biblical evidence provided. However there was overwhelming evidence pointing to the theology being more about policing the sexual integrity of women by spewing patriarchal notions encouraging misogynistic mindsets thus continuing the oppression of women.

And I must say, I agreed with that last statement. I began to question if these preachings were really about exploring the transformative love God is known for. Or, just more about putting conditions on the supposed unconditional love of God, continuing the enslavement of womanhood within the confined walls of the church…

--

--