Free Hotel Rooms and Sign-on Bonuses: The Rewards I Really Need From my Credit Card

Ashley Piszek-Rothenberger
4 min readSep 27, 2021

A simple strategy to make your credit go further

Disclaimer: Before I begin, I want to clarify that this is not an advert for Marriott credit cards. This article is based on my experience alone, and I do not earn a commission if anyone decides to follow suit and open a Marriott credit card. Thanks, and enjoy!

When I first launched my company MISS SWISS, I was keen to set up a business reward credit card straight away. I knew advance purchases were coming down the tracks, along with business trips, and hotel stays, so I wanted to make the most of the potential rewards some credit cards offer. The bank, however, encouraged me to open a personal credit card instead, until such time as the business was more established. That way, I could still earn rewards with my credit cards that would benefit my business.

I began my research into credit cards, and wow, there was a lot of choice!

Eventually, I distilled my options down to the Marriott Bonvoy Boundless™ Credit Card. With a very reasonable annual fee of $95, the credit card offers 2 points to the dollar to be used against hotel stays in any Marriott hotel. This was perfect for me as:

1. I was planning on a lot of start-up costs as I launched MISS SWISS, so I knew I would reach the threshold for the 150,000 point sign-on bonus, and

2. I knew I would be traveling a great deal in the coming months, so free and discounted hotel stays would be warmly welcomed.

Not only were the rewards a great match for my requirements, but because my mother was a Marriott credit card holder, we each earned a tidy 20,000 points through her referral.

Setting up a personal credit card for my business expenses has worked out incredibly well for me. On one particular trip for a product photoshoot, I was even able to provide all the hotel rooms for myself and five models through my points! If ever there was a case for a business credit card…this was it.

While I would encourage you to do the same, I want to stress that even though rewards from credit cards are very useful if used correctly, please only consider applying for, and using, rewards credit cards if you are in a position to pay off your balance reliably. You need to have a failsafe business plan that will pay off the credit before considering this option. Otherwise, you run the risk of incurring debt and negatively affecting your credit score.

If you feel like you are in a position to do so and decide to follow suit by signing up for a rewards credit card, here are some of my top tips:

1. Do your due diligence and check your credit score before applying for a card. The recommended credit score for all Marriott Credit Cards is 670–850. If you are outside of this range, you will not be accepted. Websites like Experian.com are a great place to check if you are likely to be approved for specific cards.

2. Consider the benefits you require before signing on to a rewards card. Make a list of benefits that are important to you, and then find a card that fits. I chose The Marriott Boundless Bonvoy™ knowing I would be saving on hotel costs — it would have made no sense to choose a card that gave rewards in the form of football games!

3. Refer to your budget before you choose your card. Some cards include a sign-on bonus if you reach a certain threshold in the first few months. By selecting a card whose threshold meets your expected expenditure, you can get the most out of your new card!

4. Finally, check with family and friends to see if there is an opportunity to receive a sign-on bonus. For me, it was my mother. We were delighted to receive our bonus points which were the equivalent to a hotel stay in Albany, New York.

I’m always interested in hearing more about the case for business credit cards. For me, it has been a hugely positive experience. Let me know in the comments how your experience with rewards credit cards has been, if you have any additional tips, or if you intend to get a rewards credit card soon!

--

--

Ashley Piszek-Rothenberger

CEO & Founder of MISS SWISS. Inventor and Entrepreneur. Sharing tips and tricks I wish I knew when starting MISS SWISS. Business life hacks & Gift Guides.