How Knowing My Enneagram Type Helped Me Handle the COVID-19 Pandemic’s Effects

Ashley Broadwater
4 min readJun 1, 2020
#goodvibes #personalgrowth #selfgrowth #selfhelp #selflove #positivity #selfimage #personaldevelopment #enneagram
Photo by Mathieu Stern on Unsplash

The name of my Enneagram type is “The Achiever,” but I’ve felt quite unsuccessful lately. The hiring freeze that’s going on right now because of COVID-19 has not been lost on me, especially as a recent graduate.

While I have gotten some internships and jobs in the past, I’ve been rejected more than I’ve been accepted. And because I’m a type 3, “The Achiever,” this has been especially hard for me.

The Enneagram is a kind of personality typing that describes how different people understand the world and deal with their emotions. There are nine “types” we can be.

Type threes specifically are success-driven and image-conscious. They work hard in hopes of not failing and of feeling worthy. They need affirmation and admiration to feel good.

But enter in a global pandemic in which people are either losing their jobs or not getting hired. Enter in some peers who somehow are lucky enough to still get jobs in spite of it all, and enter in all the humblebragging seen on LinkedIn and other social media sites.

Now you know why being a type three right now is hard.

The fact I haven’t been successful in my job search has been quite emotional for me. I don’t have that external validation and frankly…

--

--

Ashley Broadwater

Freelance writer on multiple platforms. On Medium: writing tips + relationships. UNC-CH Journalism + Media. Newsletter + more: www.linktr.ee/ashleybroadwater