Chadwick Boseman: A Silent Hero

Ashley King
4 min readAug 29, 2020

--

Katie Jones/Variety/REX/Shutterstock

On August 28th, 2020 Chadwick Boseman passed away after a 4 year battle with colon cancer. The news shocked me just as much as I’m sure it shocked you. When we learn of the death of someone we are fans of, often we think back to the happiest moments they’ve brought us. Back in 2017, I was an intern at Walt Disney Studios on the International Marketing team. Friends and family have asked me what one of my favorite Disney films I had the chance to work on. I always bring up Black Panther. As a black woman, Black Panther symbolizes something meaningful. I’m a lover of film. I understand how much what one sees on screen impacts their childhood and how they learn to empathize with people from all backgrounds. Black Panther highlighted African culture, colonialism, Black identity, and even Afrofurturism. During my time at Disney, I was one of two black people on our team. Being able to speak my mind and having my contributions included through the international markets felt like a special moment in history, although I was a small cog in a huge machine. Nevertheless, I was proud of my small part and still am.

“It is with immeasurable grief that we confirm the passing of Chadwick Boseman.⁣ ⁣Chadwick was diagnosed with stage III colon cancer in 2016, and battled with it these last 4 years as it progressed to stage IV. ⁣

A true fighter, Chadwick persevered through it all, and brought you many of the films you have come to love so much. From Marshall to Da 5 Bloods, August Wilson’s Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom and several more, all were filmed during and between countless surgeries and chemotherapy. ⁣

It was the honor of his career to bring King T’Challa to life in Black Panther. ⁣

He died in his home, with his wife and family by his side. ⁣

The family thanks you for your love and prayers, and asks that you continue to respect their privacy during this difficult time.”

⁣ — Chadwick Boseman’s family statement

Through a Different Lens: Understanding Chadwick

There were decisions I noticed the past few years that make more sense to me now that we know of his passing. The first thing I noticed and commented on often was the decision Chadwick made to portray several famous men in biopics. From Jackie Robinson, James Brown to Thurgood Marshall, I was worried that Chadwick would inadvertently typecast himself and make it more difficult to gain roles in the future. I was critical of him choosing the Marshall biopic because I couldn’t understand the decision at the time. With everything I’ve learned now, it makes a lot of sense to me.

I can’t be certain, but I choose to look at it as the decisions of a man who knew he might have little time left and wished to make as much impact as possible. Fear of typecasting probably meant very little to him at this point in his life. This is a man with a family. It could be as simple as wanting to continue working hard and providing for those he loved until he simply couldn’t anymore.

The next thing I noticed was in April of this year. On Instagram he was seen looking very thin on video announcing his partnership with Thomas Tull’s Operation 42 in honor of Jackie Robinson Day. His appearance drew concern from fans but my only thought at the time was that he must have just wrapped up filming for a new role that required the weight loss. It never even occurred to me there could be even the slightest chance he was sick. Cancer knows no age, no race and no gender. What I didn’t know was that these past few years people have cracked jokes on his appearance and how tired he looked and that saddens me. It just goes to show that you NEVER know what someone else is going through. We should be kinder to one another.

Chadwick Boseman visiting Mady at St. Jude Children’s Hospital in 2018

Let’s Not Focus on Why but on Who

I’m sure some of you have the same question that I initially had. Why did he choose to keep it a secret? Only Chadwick and his family have the answer to that. Some reasons are usually simpler than we think they are. It was his personal life and that he probably didn’t want anyone feeling sorry for him. He didn’t seem like a man who wanted pity and that is evident through how he chose to live his life. Through films like Black Panther, 21 Bridges, and Da 5 Bloods he was silently taking chemotherapy and going through mutiple surgeries. He visited St. Jude’s Childrens Hospital while battling cancer to bring joy and gifts to sick children. In an interview with SiriusXM, he expressed how much it pained him to find out some of those children didn’t make it to see Black Panther. He was a real life hero who fought valiantly, forcefully and selflessly helping others in need. What makes Chadwick special is that heroism was something he emobidied beyond just a role in a movie. What a brave and inspiring way to live.

--

--

Ashley King

Creator | Writer | Photographer who loves all things within the tech and film industries.