How a Night at the Theatre Led to Adoption.

Was I ready for a child? Did I want to adopt? One evening changed everything.

Ashley Samona Baker
5 min readMar 25, 2020
Photo by: Humphrey Muleba at Unsplash

It all started with a night at the theatre…

The Fire This Time Festival is an Obie Award-winning powerhouse that celebrates writers of the Black and African diaspora. Now, in its eleventh year, each time I’m at the festival, it becomes more than just a night of seeing plays. This event is a happening, a homecoming, a black family reunion, but instead of seeing aunties and play-cousins, it’s catching up with friends and former collaborators from projects we breathed life into long ago. That is the nature and beauty of theatre. It is ephemeral at its core. The audience is comprised of actors, singers, dancers, writers, producers, directors and art lovers of every age and stage in our careers. This room has loved one another, held space for one another, and spent time together down in the trenches, doing the daily work to pursue our craft. This is family. So it was no surprise when I ran into friends at the festival this past January. It was a cold, Saturday evening and a night of 10-minute plays. I was looking forward to seeing my friend James perform and catching up with the entire Artistic Team, who happen to be, just salt-of-the-earth, good people! To my right, was my plus one, Keona and seated behind me were four…

--

--