HCDE 451: Prototype 2

Ashleyvu
3 min readJan 19, 2023

--

Making a prototype out of soft goods. In this case a canvas pencil pouch to hold writing tools.

Design

My design is a canvas pencil pouch that you can close using a buttons fastening mechanism. It is stitched so that the pouch is 3D and has depth to it with a boxy shape. The shape is big enough to carry multiple writing tools but is small enough so that it is convenient to bring on the go.

Here are images of the design process including the initial sketch, prototype out of muslin, and the final prototype out of canvas material.

Initial Sketch
Pinning to envision the stitch
Top View (Iteration #1)
Side View (Iteration #1)
Stitch to make it 3D (Iteration #1)

Analysis

During the first iteration of the prototype I found that the overall size and stitches of the design were good. Something I wanted to change for my final prototype was cleaning up some of the edges of the pencil pouch, so I folded the edges in and stitched it so it would appear to have a clean edge. Another aspect was stitching closer to the corers (smaller allowance) to allow for a bit more volume at the bottom of the pouch. I also added a velcro strip as a fastening mechanism. I thought the effectiveness of the second iteration was better because of these cleaner aspects and overall feel of the material. Overall, I was really happy with they way my design turned out and the material I used. I would add on to this design by playing around with different fastening mechanisms and even material.

Closed Top View (Iteration #2)
Side View (Iteration #2)
Top View (Iteration #2)
Back View (Iteration #2)

Some feedback I received during critique was moving the velcro so that the flaps overlap and has some overhang to velcro together and closing some of the gaps or having a larger velcro. If I were to make another iteration of this prototype I would incorporate these features as well as well as play around with different materials.

--

--