Confessions of a Vicodin Addict

You may think you know what addicts are like. But do you really?

Ashley Walker
Addiction Redefined

--

Photo by pixel2013 on Pixabay

The opioid crisis has been generating more and more awareness than ever before. And with someone dying from an opioid overdose every 11 minutes, it’s really no wonder.

Have you ever known someone who’s been addicted to opioids? Chances are you all have; you just may not have known it.

Us addicts don’t like to shout from the rooftops we have a problem, we hide it as best we can and go about our lives. We don’t want to appear different from anyone else because deep down, we aren’t really.

I was addicted to Vicodin for 2 1/2 years following surgery. After successfully tapering off, I didn’t fully recover until another year and a half after that. Annnddd, the emotional part took even longer. Here’s what I learned along the way:

Opioid addiction often happens involuntarily.

I was prescribed Vicodin following surgery when I was in an intense amount of pain. I’d never heard of opioids or the dangers they present; I had no idea what I was getting into.

All I knew is I was in more pain than I’d ever been in and just needed it to go away. Plus, my doctor prescribed it, so how bad could it be?

--

--