Daily UX Writing Challenge #3

Ashoomi
3 min readJul 11, 2023

--

DUXWC#3: write an error message informing the user to enter the right email account.

Photo by Clem Onojeghuo on Unsplash that say Enter in neon
Photo by Clem Onojeghuo on Unsplash

Scenario: the user entered the wrong email address to sign into their account.

Challenge: tell the user to enter the right email account.

40 characters max.

My thought board:

All hail, the universal annoyance of error message login...

“damn it..

ughh..

..the hell!”

Are some of the expressions that come to mind when this situation occurs.

Majority of users have gone through this situation.

In fact, Is there anyone who still haven’t experienced this?

*cricket noise*

And, especially annoying in moments of hurry.

Regardless of when or how this error occurs. It’s important to know that this is a hurdle where the user needs helpful guidance instead of an angry, mean tone.

How to tackle this challenge without sounding like a robot?

emotions addressed: irritation, annoyance, stuck

tone: neutral, encouraging, helpful

Solution:

Initially, I was excited to write this simple message but instead all I could come up with were generic ones. I finally settled on this one below.

Why?

To not let the tone of the message sound preachy or robotic.

I’ve kept the tone simple, straightforward and helpful. By suggesting “please recheck email.”

(Not a part of the given challenge above)I also thought of adding a note below the sign-in button, “Guide me” for further help, in case, if the user are still stuck and would like to know the reason or require assitance.

UX Writing Error message wireframe/mockup Designed in Figma by Ashoomi
UX Writing error message wireframe/mockup Designed in Figma by Ashoomi

Other Rough drafts:

I was hesitant of sharing these drafts as they sounded absolutely generic. But added up here anyways.

UX Writing error message rough draft designed in Figma by Ashoomi
UX Writing error messages rough draft designed in Figma by Ashoomi
UX Writing error messages rough draft designed in Figma by Ashoomi
UX Writing error messages rough draft designed in Figma by Ashoomi

My Reflections:

Sometimes the most simplest task can turn out to be the most toughest.

I thought I would finish this in 5 mins instead this took waayy longer as I kept cancelling every message I came up with.

I still think my error message sounds like any other email message used by renknowned websites. But I’m glad I tried.

Oh and the most exciting thing about this wireframe/mockup is the fact that I have designed them in Figma.

YAY!!

I always wanted to design in figma. I had previously taught myself the basics but never really published any of the stuff and worse, I’d stopped using/practising figma.

And now, using figma after a long time, I’m excited to have finally published my wirframes on here.

I know, I know… these are not that great, but having designed them in Figma and decided to “publish” them on here.

Finally! Feels encouraging! Still have lots to learn!

That’s my today’s Daily UX Writing challenge: DUXWC: Day 3= DONE!

Criticisms? Feedback? Reviews? = Lemme know what do y’all think in the comments below.

Thanks for reading.

--

--