Behind the scenes: PostReach’s first week

Ashley Read
4 min readMay 13, 2016

--

Last Thursday morning we opened up PostReach to the world and I’d love to share some of our data from the first week-and-a-day.

Please feel free to leave any comments and ask any questions 💬

Sign ups 🚀

After 6 days we hit 1,000 users* 🎉

As of publishing this post, we have 1,079 users.

Seeing the user numbers growing daily has been amazing, and in all honesty, we were hoping to generate maybe 200–250 sign ups in week one. To have over 1,000 is mind-blowing.

Some more key stats

241 users have connected their blog to receive automated reports on all their posts as they’re published. And in total, we’ve created 3,953 content reports.

Check out an example report by clicking the image below:

Example PostReach report

Traffic 📈

Our homepage has had 3,992 visits since launch last Thursday (and a large chunk of that traffic has been driven by Product Hunt).

Here’s a breakdown of our top three traffic sources:

  • Product Hunt: 1,635 visits (~40% of traffic)
  • Direct: 1,360 (~34%)
  • Twitter: 351 (~8%) Most of this traffic appears to have come courtesy of Rand Fishkin:
Screenshot via PostReach

Revenue 💵

We have our first paying customers (and couldn’t be more grateful).

We launched with a fairly generous free plan, enabling users to connect (and automatically monitor) one blog and create up to 30 content reports per month.

Our Blogger plan (currently $10 per month), let’s users monitor up to 5 blogs and create up to 150 reports per month.

I think we can do a much better job of publicising our paid plan within the app, too. At the moment we only mention it when a user hits their account limits.

Coverage 📰

One of the highlights of launch week has been seeing some amazing people write about PostReach on their blogs:

Postreach: descubre influencers y analiza alcance de contenidos
By Miguel Angel Acera

The New Social Analytics Tool Everyone Needs
By chris bell

How Shareable is Your Content on Social Media? Use PostReach to Find Out
By Josh Muccio

Learnings 📔

We need to make it clearer how to connect a blog: During our beta phase where we walked most users through connecting their blog, we had ~ 60% of sign ups connecting blogs. This number has dropped significantly and I’d love to figure out how to make it easier for people to connect their blog.

We need to make the upgrade path / benefits clearer: One email I received explained:

I guess the only feedback I would offer is it wasn’t clear enough to me why I should upgrade to the paid plan? What I mean by that is — it was extremely obvious to me why I should copy and paste my post URL and try it out for free, but I didn’t have a similar no-brainer call-to-action after I’d gotten my free report.

Our Facebook data can be a little confusing: Facebook offers a range of date: Shares, Likes, Comments. Currently we only count shares which feels a little confusing. I’d love to think about what we could do with Likes and Comments too.

These are just a few of the learnings, I think I could write a number of essays on what we’re discovered this week — about our product an a whole host of other things.

I hope you found this post interesting — I’d love to continue sharing our journey as things progress.

Thanks for reading…

If you enjoyed it, hit that heart button below. Would mean the 🌏 to me and it helps other people see the story.

P.S. You can also check out PostReach here.

--

--

Ashley Read

Editorial at Buffer. Trying to make a life, not just a living.