Why Are We Always Looking For Something?

LoveStoned
6 min readMar 14, 2017

--

I am going to be the first to admit I am guilty times 10 on this one. I think when you are an entrepreneur it’s pretty much apart of our DNA. I am learning though a lot of crap about life and it’s why I started this blog so read on if you want to entertain my thoughts..

Why the hell are we always looking for something? I mean, in every possible way.. Even when we find it.. We still keep on looking like something else is out there that will top what we found. Love, happiness, peace..success..etc.. We over analyze things sometimes and always think the next best thing is out there. So much so, we ponder in it, day dream about it, and sometimes go on an endless destructive chase for it.. all the while to discover, we never catch it or when we do, we take it for granted because instead of living in the moment… we are still looking in a distance. We are still thinking something else is out there… In that mirage..

Whoa.. I am typing this and having deja vu. I wrote this in a past life.. lol.. Actually, I am right on track to the life I am destined for.. Sounds deep but, I believe deja vu is confirmation we are on the right track to our own purpose and why we came on this earth. When we start to figure it out.. boom deja vu. So yea, I am destined to share this knowledge that hits me in a random moment of inspiration from my own experiences. Thanks Medium for giving me a platform..

I digress.. What if we stopped looking? What if we stopped trying? What if… wait for it…wait…. What if we stopped looking at other people’s lives to find purpose and meaning in our own? What if all that looking outward is focused inward?

I feel like far too often we are chasing some kind of fictitious character or a mirage in the distance that distracts away from what we actually have in front of us. Sometimes, what we need to find is WITHIN us. Now, don’t misconstrue what I am saying because I strongly believe in chasing dreams and fulfilling goals. But, on the flip side there has to be a foundation. A solid core before accomplishing anything or even attaining the infamous happiness, love, peace, and even success that most of us are always seeking. Because truly if you are not holding these virtues within you, how the hell do you know what you are looking for? Or once you find it.. will you actually realize it? or, take it for granted? Because things on the outside that we create in our mind as the answer to what we feel on the inside is truly a chase that will never end. A feeling we will never fulfill. A destruction we can’t rebuild..

I have been extremely successful in my career but, I am so hard on myself because I know my capability and my expectations of how far I can go. I often feel like I have not achieved the level of success that I want to all the while others would look at me and think I am absolutely out of my mind. It isn’t that I am not grateful.. I am just chasing.. I am always on a chase..Sometimes my chase is misinterpreted all together.. Sometimes when I stop.. I realize I wasn’t chasing.. I was running away..

Crazy right? Think about that one….. I’ll give you a moment

What are you running from? What are you chasing? What are you trying to find!? Then, ask yourself why? Break that shit down. Grab a pen and paper. Document this. Come back to it. Write some more. Give yourself a moment to ask yourself in all seriousness, what do you want to leave behind? What do you want to find? What is right in front of you that is the problem or answer to what you are seeking. If you don’t know.. then what are you searching for? If you can’t answer these questions then my friend, you are on a treasure hunt without a map.

Maybe I reached the full potential of who I am or what I could be? Maybe?… I sure as heck wouldn’t know because I won’t stop long enough to bask in it. Maybe, this is exactly where I need to be or want to be? Certainly, if I am happy…why not? If I am healthy and fulfilled? Why not?

Because I am not… I never will be frankly as long as I am looking in the distance at a mirage that disappears the second I reach it. Or, same goes for looking behind me.. Searching for answers that quite frankly, half the time I don’t even know the question I should be asking. Because sometimes on that path of looking for something…you lose yourself. Who you are, what you want, and everything else in between...That hole inside just gets bigger.. and bigger.. As you long for the things you think you do not have.. you think are still out there… all the while, it is right in front of you… Right within you. But, you are too busy looking… Maybe you should stop? Maybe I should… stop… I don’t mean completely because that is ridiculous.. I haven’t lost my mind. I’m just having a moment.. One that honestly, makes a lot of damn sense. Because when I stop.. and think… I see clearer to realize all the love that surrounds me. All the support that I have.. All the will within me.. and all the strength to succeed.. one day.. one day.. one day… at a time… Naturally. How many times have you got out of your own damn way and then the way finds you? I’ll wait again while you think about that.. I’m going to think about that too….

I just really wanted a damn cookie.. I needed a second.

Someone gave me great advice a few months ago and the words play over and over…”Coast”… When I think of coasting, I picture my 54 chevy going down a road beach side… coasting.. taking it all in.. Seeing what happens. Coast…. I don’t have a 54 chevy but, I want one.. lol I’m working on me right now because even though I want something to happen.. I will never be fulfilled if I am busy chasing it…because sometimes you have to coast and let it come to you… (universe..send along that 54 chevy.)

Living in the moment is just as valuable as dreaming for the future. Sometimes those dreams though require action..sometimes they require stopping all together. Doing too much is doing too much and while your busy chasing you lose sight of what you are doing, why you are doing it, and who you are doing it for..

I do it for them, I do it for him, I do it for me

Let life happen and take in the moments that show you the way. Because while you are moving too quickly towards something, you may in fact be moving too far away from something else..But who knows? You will, if you stop looking for the answers that are right in front of you.. that are right within you…

Coast….See what happens. I’ll let you know how it goes for me….

I’m going on an invisible joy ride..wind in my hair and all…

--

--

LoveStoned

That feeling when something ignites you so deep, it goes beyond passion. I follow that feeling wherever it takes me. A creative mind knows no boundaries.