Celebrate Father’s Day Without Dad (+fun fact)

Ashuni Shah
2 min readJun 15, 2023

Father’s Day is around the corner, I see everyone around me getting ready for Father’s Day, buying gifts for their dads and making plans.
It reminds me of my own father and wet my eyes, not because it makes me sad, but because I miss having him around.

Instead of feeling down, I’ve decided to come up with a new way to celebrate Father’s Day.

I’m going to get something that reminds me of my father and keep it in my home. Every time I look at it, it will bring back memories of him.

I’m also going to take some time to reflect on the qualities of my father that I admire. I'll write them down and think about how I can make them a part of who I am.

And, I want to show appreciation to my mom, who has taken care of me and my siblings as both a mother and a father. I plan to send her a special gift to express my gratitude for all that she has done.

To wrap it up, although Father’s Day brings mixed feelings for me, I want to focus on finding happiness. I’ll take the time to remember my dad and the special moments we had together.

Fun fact:

My name is a wonderful fusion of my mom’s and dad’s names, like a special hashtag. I can’t help but express my absolute adoration for my name, because of this beautiful connection.

Feel free to make guesses in the comments!

Wishing you a memorable Father’s Day, filled with cherished moments and happiness.

☕️If you find my work deserving of appreciation, support me by buying me a cup of coffee!

--

--

Ashuni Shah

I write abt personal stories, habit-forming, practical life lessons | Sprouting Writer & Seeker of Meaningful Connections | By day, Real Estate Agent & Notary