A Human First.

Ashwini Rao Holla
2 min readMar 6, 2021

--

Photo by Andriyko Podilnyk on Unsplash

The International Days — whether it’s Women’s Day or something else, they are all conceived with a lot of thought, love, and care supporting a noble cause. For me, it’s like a birthday. It’s another reason to celebrate with special ones while each of us will also have a day for ourselves. However, no matter which day it is, no matter what strata of society one is from, we are all fellow humans first.

One gets subjected to criticism, peer pressure, politics, or just plain neglect in everyday life. For anyone, it’s great to be acknowledged as a fellow human who is an equal and has feelings just like you and me.

“I guard the gates and ensure the residents have a sound sleep at night. It felt great when you came to give me a new blanket to stay warm on these chilly nights.”

“I greeted an employee in the corridor and complimented her for the new spectacles. Little did I know that it took her by surprise and made her day because she didn’t expect a manager being spoken to by a Board member.”

“I was proposed by a guy, but I had to explain that his feelings were not reciprocated. Felt such a relief and sense of appreciation towards the way he respected my boundaries.”

“I clean the utensils and mop the floor in many households. It was so refreshing when the house owner offered a cup of tea and biscuits today.”

There are so many external situations where we can be in our best behavior as fellow humans.

What about the internal relationship with self?

I have my ups & downs juggling between various roles. I want to achieve success, make my loved ones happy & proud! However, when faced against odds,

“ I will be strong and show empathy towards myself. In this journey of self-discovery, I will keep improving, keep giving my very best! Above all, I will accept that I’m a human first.” :)

Keep Smiling Always ❤

--

--

Ashwini Rao Holla

Continuous learner and a new mom who strongly believes in the power of relationships, positivity and smiles. Love reading, dancing, volunteering and writing. :)