The Start

Ashwini Rao Holla
2 min readFeb 17, 2021

--

Photo by Gia Oris on Unsplash

It was 5.05am IST, having just put my baby to sleep, told myself, “I won’t let myself snooze this time. I will get back to my 5am routine”. Yes, I’m talking about ‘The 5am Club’ by Robin Sharma, the book that literally changed my perspective on life! Won’t say it changed my life yet because I’m still in the phase of making it a permanent habit. However, in the last 40 odd days that I implemented it, it really helped me discover a new dimension.

Coming back to today, the first notification I saw was on Seth Godin’s new article “Results are a by-product” and I loved it! Next thing I know, I’m reading his article — “Pick Yourself” and suddenly the urge to write couldn’t be procrastinated anymore.

To give context, I’m a new mom who recently realized that I’m more productive while doing a diverse set of things over my tendency of being lazy with just one task at hand. So here I am, managing a corporate job, household chores, just enrolled for Masters in Psychology, catching up on reading, trying to leverage technology, working on my health and learning something new consciously. Best part, I’m doing all this happily! Why am I writing all this? To help you know me better, to help me articulate myself better and more importantly to convey that if I can do it, anybody can!

Just start something that brings joy from within. If not now, then when?

The very thought of writing regularly never occurred to me until I attended rohini mundra’s program and she’s also the one who mentioned about Medium. Must give credit where it’s due and hence you’d find me tagging (thanking) so many people who inspired me to take up writing more than just a hobby!

As Paulo Coelho rightly says in The Alchemist,

What is “true” will always endure

I have garnered the courage to put forth my thoughts and let’s see how it goes.

This is the first time I’m typing as I think instead of using my usual pen & paper (trying to save time and holding baby in one hand), this is the first time I’m posting an article in public, this is the first of the many articles I intend to write. I will take baby steps and start this journey with an aim to spread smiles and help one aspire to become better version of themselves.

Summing it up with my favorite line from Seth Godin’s latest article, which says,

“And we can’t know until we ship our art.”

Keep Smiling Always! ❤

--

--

Ashwini Rao Holla

Continuous learner and a new mom who strongly believes in the power of relationships, positivity and smiles. Love reading, dancing, volunteering and writing. :)