Technical Writer for HVAC and Electrical Topics

Richard Ashworth
3 min readJul 21, 2017

--

Started a website in 2000 after the Y2K scare. In the beginning I hand coded everything learning HTML and other scripts myself. It was done as a challenge because I find learning new things challenging. Later I discovered CMS’ and after stumbling though a few different platforms finally settled on WordPress where I transferred articles from the old hand coded site to the new platform. I think deep inside I want to help people learn and I use the WordPress site to help people make wiser decisions especially about the topic for which I write about. HighPerformanceHVAC.com is the site I created and constantly work on it to refine and polish the look and feel of the site.

High Performance HVAC

I am a licensed HVAC Master, Gas Fitter Master, and Electrician Master with years in the field working to repair and improve HVAC equipment for other people. I found many people were curious as to how their HVAC systems work but did not know. I answered tons of questions for people to help them better understand their equipment and how it works.

Just before Christmas in 2000, a family member asked me what I wanted for Christmas. I told them a computer. I knew nothing about computers. A few weeks later I got a new Dell desktop computer and later subscribed to a dial-up service. I found a website on how to write HTML and began learning it. A few months later I began thinking of combining my professional duties with a website and answering questions on the web. A few months later I bought a domain and hosting launching my original and Spartan website. After some impressive traffic results from my little niche website I upgraded the site a few times changing the domain name a few times until I finally ended up with the current name.

Now, over 700 articles later with millions of pageviews, I am constantly seeking new ways to expose my site and help people with their HVAC systems. I have seen many people make many unwise decisions or deal with unscrupulous contractors and I endeavor to use my knowledge to help these people. Hopefully, before they make an unwise decision.

The site has tons of technical advice from thermostat information to air conditioning, heat pumps, and boilers. The Buyers Advice category helps guide people when making purchasing decisions for new HVAC equipment. Our HVAC reviews and Brand Comparisons help make buying new equipment easier by offering layman's term details about what you are buying. Our comments sections on the HVAC reviews pages offer consumer input for the list various brands of air conditioners, boilers, heat pumps, and other HVAC equipment.

Richard Ashworth works in the HVAC industry as a project manager commissioning data centers, hospitals, and large government and commercial facilities. When he is not working hard on a project he is playing hard at his favorite sport or traveling. He can be reached through his website at High Performance HVAC Heating & Cooling.

--

--