Rayquaza 100: It Came Back Shiny

Asian Pizza Monster
4 min readAug 25, 2019

--

Last year, in February 2018, I had two perfect Rayquaza run away from me. Not one, but TWO.

The CP rebalance changed the original perfect 2083 to 2191 later in the game.

A bit of a back story in case you haven’t followed my journey — I started playing Pokémon Go on the first day it was available and have logged in every single day since. But as my most intimate and annoying Instinct friend dubbed me — I’m a Gen 1 “Boomer.”

I only played the original Pokémon Blue. Pokémon Go introduced the likes of Gen 2–4 to me. I mean, some of Gen 2 was vaguely familiar. Misty had a Togepi, after all. But I had never heard of a Rayquaza before I started playing Pokémon Go and reading Pokémon Go chats. The name “Rayquaza” sounded ridiculous.

So, when my first perfect Rayquaza ran away from me on the mere 2nd Rayquaza raid, I was a bit in shock but not sure how to feel. I laughed it off, “So what? It’s only the best dragon in the game…”

A few days later and a mere 16 raids later, I had just gotten off the freeway after a 45-minute drive to join some fellow Instinct teammates for a raid. I rushed to make the raid…and…I encountered another perfect Rayquaza. I was nervous, needed to use the bathroom, and all my teammates had driven off to the next raid, leaving me alone to catch my perfect dragon. I tried to breathe deeply but still missed a few balls. Rayquaza ran away as my heart was pounding from the chance for redemption.

A formerly Instinct friend of mine tried to comfort me saying that Rayquaza’s move set wasn’t that good anyway — that Latios would have a better move set. I’m happy to report that a perfect Latios would also end up running from me a few months later, too.

My most intimate and annoying Instinct friend commented on my Rayquaza running away as being super unlucky and that it was S-tier.

Fucking Rayquaza! I would hold on to that story of how those two perfect Rayquaza ran from me for over a year. Any time I’d mention it to another player, they’d give me a look of sympathy because apparently it was that bad.

I was able to cope, however, because I didn’t grow up with the tales of the Weather Trio or attachment to any Pokemon past Gen 2. I’m a Gen 1 boomer after all.

Rayquaza made its return a whole year later in March 2019. I didn’t care too much for redemption, happy with catching a freebie 96%. But my most intimate and annoying Instinct friend caught his first perfect Rayquaza and I couldn’t help but feel heated when he said the better trainer always won.

And then five months later, Rayquaza returned for the third time, but this time with a magical, black shiny form.

I did not know how to feel when my most intimate and annoying Instinct friend posted screenshots of his shiny perfect Rayquaza one early morning while I was plugging away in vain at a Poliwag nest, trying to find a shiny Poliwag.

It damn well led me to question my reasons for continuing to play this frustrating, RNG-based game.

I hadn’t been able to play quite as much recently as I had been spending more time with real world responsibilities. If you’ve seen some of my other posts, my sister’s cancer was much worse this past year than it had been a year ago. I was in the process of helping her move as well. Long gone were the days when I rolled up to the Santa Monica pier and played Pokémon Go without another care in the world.

I had already missed out on a lot of new shinies in the game, and I had a great deal of FOMO.

It was just a shiny black magical dragon, right?

Well.

Yes.

And mine came.

At this past legendary raid dinner hour, I joined a group for a nice casual paced Rayquaza route. I was just looking for one more shiny Rayquaza to be able to do a lucky trade and also to help my mom get a shiny as well. I really wasn’t expecting anything too grand.

So imagine my surprise when my Rayquaza popped out black with its sparkles and THEN I SAW THE NUMBER. 2191??? WAIT, WHAT IS THIS REAL??

“Oh my god, a Shundo!” I cried.

THE BEAUTY OF A SHINY LEGENDARY IS THAT ITS CATCH RATE IS 100%. THAT MOTHERFUCKER COULDN’T RUN.

If only I got the sparkles in the screenshot!

My perfect Rayquaza came back to me, and it came back shiny. And it wasn’t leaving.

It was beautiful.

I called my sister, who doesn’t play Pokemon Go, just to tell her the news.

This was the best possible outcome I could have ever hoped for, to finish my Rayquaza story.

That bitch came back!!! Black and sparkly. Rayquaza redemption indeed.

My black dragon ❤

Love,

Asian Pizza Monster, Your Casual Lucky but Unlucky 40x6 Instinct

--

--

Asian Pizza Monster

Hi I’m Asian Pizza Monster. I’m here to help you with your heartbreak by telling you about mine. I also ate a lot of pizza.