Food For My Thought — Day 10

Ask Hamal Aka
3 min readFeb 10, 2024

--

I am writing this at 7:08 p.m. on the 10th of February, 2024.

I skipped the blog yesterday, but I am back at it now. I think the consistency is getting a little better. Earlier, I used to skip 3 days in a row, but now, I am trying to get back into the groove. I’m trying not to skip at all, but if I have to, then just a day would be enough.

This morning was great. I am trying to wake up early and exercise. I have inculcated a new routine of getting up early, weighing myself, walking for 5000 steps, doing breathing exercises, and then doing a 7 to 10-minute workout. Doing this for 3 days in a row has made me feel a little different. The most noticeable thing that I can say right now is the body pain that I have. I didn’t feel it while doing it, but after some time, I can feel a little pain in different body parts, especially my back region near the shoulder. But it is great. I mean, it feels great that I do some sort of exercise that boosts my mood and uplifts my energy levels.

Apart from that, I thought of winding up my morning schedule by 10:00 a.m. today, and then having a bath, and then having my sandwiches, and then working for a few hours before having lunch. But that got derailed when I started having a conversation with my mother about life, career, and everything family relationship, in general. It is good to talk to parents from time to time regarding all these things so that they are calm in the head, and they also understand the point of view of the children. So, that’s the healthy dialogue that should happen now and then.

Right now, the thing that I enjoy eating is a sandwich spread that I have bought. So, I just roast the bread a little bit in butter, and then apply the sandwich spread, and then have it. I mean, it is very simple, but I look forward to making it every day now, and by that, I mean 2 days, and it would last two, three, four days before I get bored out of it.

Also, yesterday I watched a video by Cinemaan about how chaos is created in Priyadarshan movies, and that was a very intriguing way of looking at his cinema. As a lot of times, he has been just accused of remaking Southern films in Hindi and taking away all the credit. Still, there are a lot of cinematic techniques that he uses in his movies that add hilariously to his comical movies. I am sure that many people also think of him as a comedy director, but as much as I love his comedy, even his serious films were great. Like ‘Aakrosh’ was such a shift from chaotic comedy to gritty caste-based honour-killing drama set in Bihar, and that was great too.

Also, a few days ago, I mentioned trying to read more books and developing a reading habit. So, I am not good at it right now as I am not reading up daily, which I should. Although I read a lot of articles like that, reading proper physical books is something I want to do. So maybe, I have found the hack to streamline reading and writing as well. And by writing, I mean this blog post. So as I have talked about my morning schedule, I will just add reading and writing to it like during my 5000-step walk in the morning. I’ll add a 10-minute reading bit to it so I can start from that. After I am done with my morning routine, I just do my blog, which would tie up one activity with another. So, it will push me to not miss any step in between, and that would create a very viable system and something that I would enjoy doing instead of keeping it fragmented.

Okay then, hopefully, see you tomorrow. I think morning thoughts are way better than thoughts that are at the end of the day, and you try to just force yourself to write. The most natural, organic thoughts come either during the shower or the morning walk.

--

--

Ask Hamal Aka
0 Followers

Using this space as a daily journal