Curiouser & Curiouser

Shelley Bird
2 min readJan 5, 2017

--

I am joining the 52 Week Writing Challenge. There it is in black and white. I’m committed. Now I have to deliver each week for an entire year. What was I thinking?! Well, I was thinking that having a whole community of accountability partners is just what I need to stay at it. A bit like crowd surfing. So thank you in advance to all my fellow writers.

This challenge comes at an auspicious time for me. Several months ago I embarked on a grownup gap year. I told friends and colleagues that I was embracing a dyno, a rock-climbing maneuver that propels you to a handhold that is out of reach. If you are not a climber you would simply call this a leap; perhaps even a leap of faith! A dyno, or dynamic move, takes you from a position of control and balance to one of unbalance. A dyno can look and feel intimidating and highly improbable, but full of promise. Scary, but exhilarating at the same time. Change reminds us of the possibilities and I’m embracing it as I lunge into the unfamiliar and pull myself up to the next handhold.

As I figure this out, I will embrace my full power of curiosity. I will look for insight and learning and pleasure in novel and mundane experiences alike. I will observe and wander. I will see differently. And I will write about it.

--

--