Hollyann Wood
1 min readMar 13, 2017

--

The people in my neighborhood who are on Nextdoor (also being gentrified) are people like me: white semi-recent transplants, old white people with tech-savvy kids, and a handful of others. When I see people posting garbage, I point it out. You would not believe the crazy posts that happened when Pokémon Go came out and kids were wandering around in and out of people’s yards. I was seriously worried about the kids’ safety but luckily, I’m pretty sure we were able to educate the white adult idiots/racists and nothing happened. Things like that are why I stay on there. I’m not the asshole whisperer but I do feel like it’s not people of color’s job to educate us and that we need to advocate for better behavior from the people around us. Being a good, confident, educated, neighbor trying hard to make the place better for all the neighbors helps create and encourage people on the fence not to succumb to hysteria and to be good neighbors.

--

--

Hollyann Wood

I worked with startups for 10+ years. I work in marketing: content, strategy, SEO. She/her. I’m a mom & I vote. My thoughts are my own. http://hollyannwood.com