An Internet Stalker Walked 500 Miles to Find Me

Aster Lately
15 min readDec 15, 2023
The incredibly tranquil land of a prominent effigy mound site — photo by Aster Lately

Before I started writing on Medium, I had a different platform with a different name and did different things. Perhaps this experience is the reason why I am choosing to share and express in more… pseudonymous ways… but I digress. Some crazy scary sh*t happened and I still can’t get it out of my head!

The stalking started around a time that my inner artist was starting to leave me. She was like, “Nah, this isn’t working out for me anymore, you’re selling me out!” and my creative world started crumbling. This was about halfway during my stay in the House of Hard Lessons (I’ll tell you about it sometime), a year and a few months in: December 2021. It is still hard for me to describe what I went through internally, but going through the artist recovery course called The Artist’s Way is revealing clues as to what happened. At the time I had a platform I shared videos, blogs, and my art on and I openly shared in December that I was going to quit because something was seriously off with me. It was quite dramatic with crying and everything, and my audience seemed shocked. My world started crumbling but I wasn’t ready to let go of my platform. That wouldn’t happen until summer of 2023. I would hang on by hairs until then, continuing to share little bits of inspiration or information when they came up every month or so.

--

--

Aster Lately

Free spirit artist living an adventurous life in alternative ways. Adventure, art, life's questions & personal stories.