An Ode to Wanda Maximoff: On Stigma, Self-Acceptance, and the Scarlet Witch

A Super-Human Life
2 min readJun 10, 2019

--

Katarina shares her love for the unsung hero of the Avengers.

If there’s one thing everyone knows about me, it’s that I love Wanda Maximoff a.k.a. the Scarlet Witch. I mean I really love her. I love her in comics. I love her in the Marvel Cinematic Universe. I love her on my merchandise. I love her in my advertising. I love her in every way, shape, and form Marvel will give her to me. I have her picture on my t-shirts, and her posters on my wall. I cosplay as her at comic cons and I even put her symbol on my graduation cap. Wanda has resonated with me in a way no other character has. Her story is one of struggle, suffering, and recovery in much the same way as the past 10 years of my life have been.

FIND OUT HOW WANDA & KATARINA’S LIVES ALIGN OVER AT THE FUTURE OF THE FORCE (original publisher)

Author’s Note: I would really appreciate you following the link to finish reading my piece. I am always striving to intertwine entertainment writing and personal narrative as I have done here. I believe how media represents us has a great impact on our lives. It sure has on mine. Thank you for spending a few minutes reading the article of which I’m most proud.

--

--

A Super-Human Life

su·per (adj): exhibiting the characteristics of its type to an extreme or excessive degree | Hi, I’m Kat and I’m building a life worth living!