Crypto, Actually #0 : Upcoming Article Series about Cryptocurrencies & Blockchain

Atahan Uz
3 min readNov 27, 2023

--

Hello, welcome to my upcoming article series about cryptocurrencies and the blockchain: Crypto, Actually

The name “Crypto, the Truth” is a deliberate choice. The reason is, in this field there are usually two types of narratives:

  • Anti Crypto Dinosaurs: They oppose crypto because they simply can’t understand the technology. They prefer the status-quo because opposing a new technology is always easier than embracing it as we’ve seen many times in history. Though there are some thought leaders with valid anti-crypto argument whom I respect.
  • To-the-moon Cryptoboys: BTC TO 100K !! . END OF THE WALL STREET. DEMISE OF THE CORRUPT BANKING SYSTEM… They shout that Crypto will take over the world and people will fight on the streets for a single satoshi. They are either naive enthusiasts or deliberate speculators who are trying to boost their own investment bag.

I think there a very few people with unbiased, neutral and nuanced opinions in the crypto region; so I decided to start this article series to become one of them.

To summarize my opinion: I believe that crypto has the potential to compete with traditional systems in banking, commerce, gaming etc. but it will never totally take over any sector. Because of the fundamental limits of the blockchain, centralized traditional systems will continue to exist. I think the most likely outcome is that we will have competing CeFi and DeFi products, which is also the best outcome because competition is always beneficial to the society.

I am planning to release articles about blockchain, Bitcoin, altcoins, exchanges, Decentralized Finance (DeFi), challenges of crypto adoption (why you won’t buy your coffee with crypto in Starbucks) and various other topics. While I’ll sometimes dive into the underlying technology, people without code or software knowledge will be able to easily understand me. I won’t:

  • Speculate about the short term price action of any cryptocurrency
  • Promote any exchange or investment platform
  • Try to sell you a course or any type of paid product

A side note about cryptocurrencies vs blockchain: Blockchain is the underlying technology powering Bitcoin, Ethereum and other networks, Cryptocurrencies are consumer side products people can use and buy. I will give them equal weights as they are both essential for the crypto ecosystem. Cryptocurrency without blockchain is a speculative ponzi while blockchain without cryptocurrency is a useless theory.

See you in the next article, Crypto, the Truth #1 !

Who am I ?

In my 8 years of experience of crypto I’ve experienced almost everything about crypto, all the ups and downs. I’ve been using basically every single cryptocurrency exchange and platform (yes I had money in bankrupt exchange FTX 😅 ), I’ve earned and lost a lot of money in my journey. I also have experiences in decentralized applications in most chains (BSC, Polygon, AVAX, Solana…). I’m interested in all things finance and I’m building algorithms to automate trading on crypto and other financial markets. I’m a Computer Engineering student in Yildiz Technical University and I believe that my growing knowledge in computer science will expand my perspective in crypto.

--

--

Atahan Uz

Computer Engineering Student at Yildiz Technical University. Finance,Software, Blockchain and Classical Music Enthusiast.