Coffee and Comics #2: “Persepolis” by Marjane Satrapi (2000)

Athena Zhang Baker
2 min readAug 2, 2020
Marjane as a little girl being interrogated by nuns in “Persepolis.” Found in Athena Baker’s Coffee and Comics #2
Marjane being interrogated by nuns in “Persepolis” film

Greetings fellow creatives and welcome to another #Coffee and #Comics!

Last year, while I was going over with my partners a list of graphic novels to read for 2020, one graphic novel I pitched was “#Persepolis” by Marjane Satrapi.

The reason why I wanted the club to read this book is because in one section, #Satrapi talks in depth in the second volume about her struggles with becoming an artist in late 20th century Iran.

While the idea seemed nice on paper, because we already had stories that focused on the struggles of becoming an artist and that my boyfriend didn’t think that showcasing #MiddleEastern French #graphicnovels was a good idea, it was a hard decision.

At the time, I couldn’t find any good Middle Eastern graphic novels that were easily accessible to my members. While I would still love it if my members were to read “Persepolis,” more than likely, we’ll read it next year.

What do you guys think, though? Does the idea of having a club like Manga and Manhwa Book Club read a Middle Eastern French graphic novel sound like a good idea to you all? Have any of you ever read “Persepolis” or at least have seen the movie? Let me know in the comments below! :)

Haruhi Suzumiya with a ribbon in her hand. Found in Athena Baker’s “Coffee and Comics #2
Haruhi Suzumiya with a ribbon in hand

***

Click here to learn more about the author

***

Originally published on Author’s LinkedIn Page

--

--

Athena Zhang Baker

Breaking the boundaries between the Arts, Sciences, and the Common Mind.