MY CURRENT OBSESSIONS

Athena Nguyen
4 min readJul 31, 2018

--

There are 13 things I’m currently obsessed with. I’m too indecisive to choose one so here are my current obsessions that affect my life both positively and negatively.

13. The number 13. The numbers 1 and 3 mushed together. What 7 and 6 added together equate to. A prime number. Most people say it’s unlucky. I say the opposite. I’m drawn to the number that most people attribute with bad luck. Call it superstition, but it tends to bring me good luck.

12. Lists. As you can see, I’m making a list of my obsessions right now. I like to make lists of tips, favorite things, and things I hate, especially on my vlogs.

11. Red Lipstick. Even though lipstick may be a little drying for my lips and gets all over my food when I eat, I wear it anyway. It makes me feel confident, particularly red lipstick. I just have my red lips to make a bold statement.

10. Chocolate Chips. I can eat them by the handful. Who says sugar is bad for you?

9. Little mix. This British girl group definitely makes the best music. Shout out to my Ex, Secret Love Song, Touch and a variety of other Little Mix songs are the songs that just so happen to be on repeat on my Spotify account. Yes, I’m a Mixer at heart.

8. Musicals. I no talent whatsoever in singing or dancing or acting. I only sound good singing in the shower. But watching musical theater actor and actresses perform is jaw-dropping for me. My favorites are Mean Girls the Musical, Legally Blonde, Finding Neverland, Dear Evan Hansen, and the Book of Mormon. I can listen to their soundtracks all day and night. And honestly, musicals are things I just throw my money at.

7. Disney. You can never go wrong with a Disney movie. They just keep getting better and better and better. From Tangled to Zootopia, I can watch these movies over and over again.

6. Vanilla Ice Cream and Chocolate Chips. Vanilla Ice Cream is the best. No argument.

5. Youtube. I watch way too much Youtube. Youtube is essentially a trap for me. Once I get the urge to watch just one youtube video, I end up watching a youtube video on a completely different topic 3 hours later, without realizing how much time has passed. My obsession with watching Youtube videos caused me to start my own Youtube channel. Being in front of a camera is a place I can be my authentic self. My crazy self. Some people may think I’m obnoxious, but it’s okay, I’m happy.

4. Games of Thrones. George R.R. Martin is a literary genius. I have never seen character development as he does it. THE EMOTIONS. THE FEELS. THE SHOCK. I need his next book. I’m out of patience. I have to rely on the show, but the books beat it by a landslide.

3. Cassandra Clare’s Shadowhunter Universe. Cassandra Clare is a storyteller like no other. One page in and then I can’t put the book down. I’ve spent days, pulled all-nighters, procrastinated on other important things to read her fantasy world. I’ve read each book in this universe at least six times. I’ve stopped counting after that.

2. Just food, in general. I know I mentioned that vanilla ice cream and chocolate chips are good, but I have way too big of an obsession with food for my own good. It’s just always right there. In front of my face. And I try not to give into temptation. But I always do anyway.

These things make me happy but the thing that I am most obsessed with is….

Sleep. Sleep. Sleep. Sleep. Sleep. Sleep is everything to me. Sleeping is just the best feeling in the world. Period.

When I was younger, I thought that sleep was for the weak. From age 4 to 10, I thought that adults didn’t take naps and adults that who did were childish. So I didn’t take naps. I wanted to stay up. See the world. I didn’t need to waste my time. I was such an adult by not taking naps. WHAT ON EARTH WAS I THINKING?!?

So here a list of good times to take naps (in no particular order):

1. When you are procrastinating

2. Doing a P-set

3. During a Test

4. In Class

5. During a Date

6. During Work

7. When you are carrying a lot of expensive things in public

8. When you are in the middle of nowhere

9. When you are standing

10. When you are driving

11. When you are giving a speech

12. When you are talking to someone important

13. During an event that you’ve spent a lot of money on

But sarcasm aside, naps are the best thing in the world.

And these are my current obsessions.

--

--