Are you going to Davos?

Atif Yaqub
8 min readJan 27, 2019

--

My first time as a Davoser

The conversation began with ‘Are you going to Davos?’ ‘You mean that World Economic Forum (WEF) thing? No. Why?

Apart from hearing about #WEF on a yearly basis through media, going back as far as I can remember, I had never really taken an interest in going to #Davos. After many ventures in various markets around the world, I’ve been to enough dinners and networking events to last a lifetime, so the thought of attending more, all the while freezing on top of a mountain, really didn’t appeal. What could Davos really offer?

After that first conversation, I didn't think about it again until late in the year, when I decided to look into it more throughly. I actually ended up clicking through all the “Davos” and “WEF2019” pages that Google returned. There was hardly any public information. Now I was intrigued.

One article popped up a few times- when I read it, the last thing I thought was that in a few weeks time I will be giving the author a lift to the airport. Strange things happen, even stranger in Davos.

I’ve travelled a lot, especially last minute, so I was prepared mentally, knowing that I could well just end up going to a small village in Switzerland, staying in a hotel surrounded by snow for a week, and returning back home frozen, with not much else to show for it. At most I thought Davos could possibly lead to meeting a few business people and exchanging cards- some small talk and high level networking. I knew there would be famous faces around, but I was hardly going to go take photos with any. In the end, Davos surpassed all of my expectations, which is why I thought I’d share my experience.

Davos structure

There is Davos, the World Economic Forum, then there is what goes on outside the fence. The WEF has a tiered access system and issues a spectrum of badges. The main ‘white badge’ gives access to the annual meeting and pretty much everything outside. After that there are various colours for security, press and staff. The holders clearly wear them with a lot of pride.

Then you have secure hotel areas, accessed with a hotel badge. They host many events- some of the goods ones, but not all. Most of these are invite-only by the hosts of each event. You need an event invite to receive a hotel badge, which the WEF controls and issues after security clearance. Davos is not cheap. Some people pay thousands just for hotel security clearance and thousands more for accommodation; thats when you realise it’s not accessible for all.

Beyond these secure areas is the DavoSTRIP, mostly on Promenade, the main shopping street of Davos. Shops are emptied out so governments & companies can build pavilions. There is a crypto container too, no surprise.

I asked a few contacts about getting a badge, but being late and not knowing what I was going into, I was happy with any. Heck maybe even no badge. I had signed up to lots of events (that research paid off). Then just before Davos week I was added to a group, #unDavos, that was made up of hundreds of people attending the week. It is a colourful community but still kept in check. I met some great people through the group at events (my hat stands out) and it created a warmer feeling of being at Davos, i.e. you’re not alone freezing on a mountain.

Schatzalp — Magic Mountain

Davos is a culture

I believe Davos is a culture, a lifestyle add-on. My first experience has trigged much thought about the structures that we operate within. From what I am told the Davos week has grown and changed over the years, especially the events that go on beyond the boundaries of WEF. This was not a business trip or a holiday. It was a genuine learning exercise and experience. The conversations that take place are incredibly diverse, and in some ways, I think the walled garden of the WEF and the open unDavos community outside, complement each other. And the concept of having a meeting on top of a mountain has really worked. It takes you outside of your comfort zone and forces you to reach out and engage with people.

Global community

The crowd is truly global. You have thought-leaders and misleaders. Some want to have business meetings, some want to talk about ways to change the world, others just come to party. I had few business discussions - but many about changing the world. As the hours went by I felt, increasingly, part of a focused, highly valuable community. You do see the odd “Davos Bums” though, as one individual put it. They’re the ones who, perhaps due to inexperience, go straight for a selfie with a famous face and overeagerly pitch business ideas having only just met said individual.

Davos has given me more than what a business deal can offer. The conversations, panels (and erm…manels), late night discussions and sharing create greater effects.

When I arrived into Zurich, using the unDavos group I mentioned that my rental car would have space for a free ride to Davos. I ended up taking three random people I had never met before, with me. We ended up connecting well. Then one night, someone who I had just met earlier that day, who is a WEF Global Shaper, called me at 1am. He was stuck outside in -15 degree weather and couldn't access his hotel room. There was no transport at that time and his roommate had vanished for the night (there are black holes in Davos). He ended up sleeping on a spare bed in my twin room. We had great conversations and aligned on many issues.

Unexpected meetings and opportunities

There were many random, special moments. I don’t really want to name drop here but if you ever go to Davos, you will realise that in totally random moments you meet the most unexpected people. You could end up sharing a car, elevator, or loo as one person did, with a very high profile person. You might not transact or become close friends straightaway, but I think Davos opens the door to long term and short term opportunities. What you make of them and how you interact, I guess depends on you. It is a privilege, I would say, so you can’t afford to mess it up!

No getting rich-quick

There are imposters walking around on the streets of Davos during the week, planning the next get-rich-quick scheme. Some just see it as an opportunity to make a quick buck, so you come across so-called packages that claim to open doors (I don’t think they do). All of that is inevitable - the profile of people at Davos is always going to attract unscrupulous individuals.

If you have no goals, are not motivated, and just think coming to Davos will connect you to a billionaire to get rich quick, this might not be for you. But if you’re working hard and achieving, then Davos can become a great accelerator, but I wouldn't approach it as a handout.

Davoser Schlitten

Final thoughts

I went to Davos not expecting much. Maybe that was a good thing. I registered for 34 events before arriving, but the schedule got very hectic, and at times I missed events because I was dragged to different ones having connected with a new person in the random moments I already mentioned. The range of events is also mind boggling. There is everything from having dinner with a minister, to more unusual events, such as one where a fashion show was infused into networking (though there wasn’t exactly much opportunity for networking; the artist was adamant we couldn’t talk and had to appreciate the music, so we ended up looking blankly at each other’s faces). I made my way out and ended up sitting next to someone in the lobby. It turned out this person had lots in common and we spoke for hours.

The first and last events I attended were both hosted dinners. They turned out to be the most special for me. I met people in the last event that I had met in the very first; two ended up on the same table as me by chance. The final event was my first experience of Shabbat dinner, so I won’t forget that. We did an introduction and your “Davos moment” around the table. There were some great stories and the table of eight was made up of everything from inventors to investors and creators to curators.

I don’t believe it’s all random - I believe everything we encounter is part of a journey, hopefully leading to better things. But I have to say, nothing could have prepared me for seeing the CEO of one the most prominent banks in the world as a DJ for a lively party. That is definitely an ‘only in Davos’ moment.

The high fences, overtly armed guards and lines of fancy limos can be daunting, but it is what facilitates the WEF participants and leaders. I would say don’t be scared of it and engage with it. You might even end up in fascinating conversations about rockets and spaceships or how a government is curating a new tech.

We still live in a predominately top down system. Even in democratic states the central banks, civil servants and swathes of policy influencers are not elected. Very few bottom up ideas gain traction. Bitcoin has successfully given birth to a multi-billion dollar industry, and though it faces many challenges, we need more of that. We need a huge swathe of wealth and power to shift, but until then the lines of limos and caged elite will remain. It was great to see some WEF attendees holding open events outside the cage so they could include more diverse audiences. I guess thats how you take WEF off-piste.

My plan is to return next year, for the 50th anniversary of the WEF and start a five year plan for me. I want to make an impact in my home community in the UK, and be able to look back after five years and know that I have made a difference. More specifically, I want to provide business support and funding to ethnic minorities; inequality in the UK is still very apparent, especially outside of London. Perhaps my personal business can benefit too, but there are opportunities to do more than just make money from attending Davos. Whether I achieve my goals or not, the experience has been worth it, even if just to trigger those thoughts. After all, the WEF does say it’s “committed to improving the state of the world.”

I want to thank everyone who was so open and welcoming during the week. There are many new faces and names to remember, but I look forward to keeping in touch. If you’re passing by London, do reach out- nothing like a good cup of tea. Happy to help the community and will be following the progress of many of you amazing people. See you next year!

Telegram: @AtifYaqub

Website & LinkedIn: www.atifyaqub.com

--

--