The Journey to becoming…

Vanessa Ating
2 min readOct 24, 2017

--

The stages we pass through to become…are filled with great expectations

Photo by Tegan Mierle

Life itself is a journey, a journey that has its fair share of expectations. Today you are a baby with everybody waiting on you and tomorrow it’s expected that you become an adult and begin to wait on yourself and even on others that will come after you.

Growing up to become what you expect might either break you or make you. Your expectations might not turn out the way you want them to, because having expectations on the journey to becoming is not as easy as one would think. On my quest to becoming a better developer I’ve lost sleep, I’ve cut down on a lot of social activities and I’m moving from a not so timely person to a timely person with the expectation that in the end, I do become better, but learning exactly has no end except you “the become” chooses to stop evolving.

On this particular journey of mine, I’m currently on the semi-phase of training to become a world-class developer through the Andela Bootcamp. Its day 2 and from everything that this Bootcamp training entails I expect to become not just a better developer, but to be honest as a person in all aspects of life, to communicate my questions and ideas effectively and learn to help other people like me with their challenges through this journey, so our expectations to all become world-class someday would not break us but rather make us the best versions of ourselves.

And as always, Thank you for reading.

--

--